IndieWritersReview Spotlight! The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam epic fantasy series by Devorah Fox!! (Author Notes Feature)

Happy Friday All! I’m very excited that IndieWritersReview is hosting The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam epic fantasy series by Author Devorah Fox!!

a fun plus 110

The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam, epic fantasy series


Had I a different vision for the story, when I began The Lost King, I would have not have been surprised to find that it was only Book One of a series. At the time, though, I had but one tale to tell. However a funny thing happened on the way from the beginning to the ending. I got to the conclusion of the tale but not the story. Robin, the lost king, had learned a lot but still had a lot to learn. Readers recognized this because they asked me, “What happens next?” and “When’s the next book coming out?” I was pleased that readers so liked the characters that they wanted to spend more time with them.

I began The King’s Ransom thinking that I was writing a sequel. I was quite a way into writing it when I realized that there would be at least one more book in the series. I started writing Book Two thinking it was going to be about certain characters and events. So much had to happen first, however, that by the time I covered all that, I had a different novel than the one that I had planned to write. The King’s Ransom became not a sequel but “Book Two” because I still wanted to write the book that I set out to write when I began The King’s Ransom.

I started The King’s Redress thinking that certainly this would be Book Three of a trilogy. Wrong again. I felt that King Bewilliam had gotten closure on the issues that bedeviled him in The Lost King but his fans—yes, by now he had fans—felt differently. There was one loose end in the king’s life that they wanted to see tied up.

I began Book Four, The Redoubt, with a pretty good idea of how readers would like to see it end. Gosh darn it, though. The closer I got to finishing it the more I realized that this story wasn’t going to wrap up as expected. Then Life threw a number of obstacles in my path and I went into a complete creative stall. I’m sure it didn’t help that I had a plot goal in mind that I was fairly certain I couldn’t reach.

I did however get writing again and finished The Redoubt. Now, what to call The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam? Two books are the first book and its sequel. Three books are a trilogy. What are four books?

I did some research and discovered that a collection of four books could be called a tetralogy or a quadrilogy, depending on whether one favors Greek or Latin etymology. “Quartet” is also sometimes used but for me that kept calling to mind four bow-tie-wearing men harmonizing. Another suggestion was “cycle,” and I liked that. The Redoubt does, in at least one aspect, bring King Bewilliam’s bewildering adventures full circle.

Will there be a fifth book? I believe that there will be. King Bewilliam has reached the end of a huge overarching learning curve. However there are issues that I would like to explore, and that intrepid dragon-slayer, King Bewilliam, is just the guy for the mission.

Now, what does one call a collection of five books? I don’t care for “quintet” any better than I liked “quartet.” I suppose that I could call it a “pentalogy.” I think, however, that I’ll go with what one of King Bewilliam’s fans suggested: “a bunch of books.” The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam epic fantasy bunch of books. I like it.


You can find all of King Bewilliam’s stories in print and digital format on, and other online retailers.


About Devorah Fox

a fun plus 112

“What if?” Those two words all too easily send Devorah Fox spinning into flights of fancy. Best-selling author of The Lost King, The King’s Ransom, The King’s Redress and The Redoubt in The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam epic fantasy series she also co-authored the contemporary thriller, Naked Came the Sharks, with Jed Donellie and the Masters of Time: a SciFi/Fantasy Time Travel Anthology. Born in Brooklyn, New York, she now lives in The Barefoot Palace in Port Aransas on the Texas Gulf Coast with rescued tabby cats … and a dragon named Inky. Visit the Dee-Scoveries blog at and Facebook for the latest on new works in progress, events, and specials.



3 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview Spotlight! The Bewildering Adventures of King Bewilliam epic fantasy series by Devorah Fox!! (Author Notes Feature)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s