IndieWritersReview Welcomes UnCommon Bodies Anthology! Release Day REVIEW Feature


Happy Tuesday All! Today I am very excited that IndieWritersReview is participating as a host for NEW RELEASE: UnCommon Bodies Anthology! Also check out my review of  UNCommon Bodies!

NEW RELEASE: UnCommon Bodies is a collection of stories curated by Pavarti K. Tyler that span across genres to explore the lives of the odd, the unbelievable, and the impossible

UCB CoverSUMMARY: Step right up to the modern freakshow — We have mermaids, monsters, and more. You won’t be disappointed, but you may not get out alive.

UnCommon Bodies presents a collection of 20 beautifully irreverent stories which blend the surreal and the mundane. Imagine a world where magic exists, where the physical form has the power to heal or repulse, where a deal with the devil means losing so much more than your soul.

PRE-ORDER NOW for Release on 11/24. FREE on Kindle Unlimited. Amazon.com

INCLUDES STORIES BY: Philip Harris, Sessha Batto, Robb Grindstaff, Brent Meske, Sally Basmajian, Robert Pope, Keira Michelle Telford, Jordanne FullerMichael Harris Cohen, Deanne Charlton, P.K. Tyler ,Bey Deckard , Vasil Tuchkov, Laxmi Hariharan, Samantha Warren, Rebecca Poole, Daniel Arthur Smith, S.M. Johnson, Kim Wells, Christopher Godsoe, and Bob Williams

You can see the full summaries of all the stories on GoodReads: smarturl.it/UCBGoodreads

To Celebrate, the authors are hosting a Facebook Party on 11/24 Join the Fun! https://www.facebook.com/events/495176633996990/

And there’s more! What? Yep! The Authors are also giving away a Kindle! Enter below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 

*************************************************

a fun plus 102

Uncommon Bodies is a wonderful anthology filled with works by a collective of very talented authors! I loved the idea of the anthology and I was very excited to see how this unique premise would be carried out.

One of the stories that I loved was UnTamed which was the first work of Author Laxmi Hariharan I’ve read and needless to say I will be reading all her works! I really do not know where to start. But I enjoyed the magical tale that had a touch of dystopia, but was more. I believe the mix of the Bombay culture simply added fantastic layers to the story! I could see the colors— blues and greens of the statues in the temple courtyard and I could see Ganesh—the elephant headed god. I could taste the cupcakes described as small mounds of sweetened cheese shot through with saffron threads, sprinkled with cardamom powder, and slivered with almond and pistachio—wow!

The description was lush and full and I loved the fiery, restlessness of the main character Leana Iyeroy who’s part wolf and human, but desires to be a full human girl! I loved hearing the tales of Brahma and the founding of the new world and what happened during the apocalypse and what brought it on.
I enjoyed the meeting between Leana and the Hugging Saint (she calls the Hugging Boy). I enjoyed the ending and how Leana finally is set on the right path to find her true self!

I am very interested in reading the previous books which events lead to this story and the main character and I’d be very interested in learning what happens NEXT to Leana!
Well written, wonderfully descriptive and plenty of action!—Ms. Hariharan is a master storyteller and I am truly a fan!

Awesome story! A must read for those who enjoy a wonderful magical realistic or dystopian story with a multicultural setting!

 

I also enjoyed Author P.K. Tyler’s Daedalus’ Daughter which was a delicate dance for my senses. The story teased me into its web at the start when presenting the first white feather. I was intrigued by what could be happening to the grieving young woman Isha? I knew going into this short read of the  Greek mythology which included Daedalus, the skillful craftsman and artist, whose son did not heed the warning to not fly too close to the sun with wings created by his father. But what of Daedalus’ DaughteR? What if more was happening with the family which was far greater than works created by a craftsman?

These questions twirled in my mind as I was drawn into the beauty of Ms. Tyler’s storytelling. Soft, gentle and lyrical the web was weaved catching the reader in its grasp and then all of a sudden the surprise ending!  Although was it a surprise? In my head, I had toyed with the thought that there could be no other outcome, but yet I was surprised having being lulled into the budding relationship between Isha and the handsome Minh, the caretaker for her inherited cabin.

Their relationship also posed the question who and what was Minh? How and why did he react not with fear and disgust at seeing what was becoming of Isha, but with fascination and adoration?

But before I could find my full… the story was done! I imagined myself knocking on the author’s door begging for more! More of these characters and more of their lives and what happened next?!

I could see this as a full length work and with the haunting, lyrical quality of the telling would sure to thrill the reader! Well written and a surprise ending will entertain and thrill the reader!

Author PK Tyler has a new fan!

I look forward to reading more of the fabulous stories and visiting the intriguing worlds in UnCommon Bodies which I will recommend as a must read!

 

 

2 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview Welcomes UnCommon Bodies Anthology! Release Day REVIEW Feature

  1. This is on my buy list! I have to have it. I love collections. Get to sample new authors. And these stories sound great. Gotta confess, that cover grabbed me first! LOL

Leave a Reply

