IndieWritersReview’s Music Monday Spotlight! Music and Record Producer ManKNEE (14th IMA’s Awards)


Happy Monday all, today I have another great spotlight for you! Take a look at Discover Artist for the 14th IMAs: ManKNEE! Listen to

ManKNEE’S MUSIC

a fun plus 101

Music & Record Producer for Recording Artists, TV and Film

Website

Discover Artists That Joined The 14th IMAs: manKNEE

TAKEN FROM THE INDEPENDENT MUSIC  AWARDS

Interview

Artist Name: manKNEE (pronounced Manny) Home Base: Orlando, FL Genres: Singer/Songwriter, Pop Categories Entered: Adult Contemporary, Pop, Contemporary Christian Title of Work Submitted: Before The Curtain Falls Label: Self-Released Producer: Brian Steckler and myself What’s the story behind your artist name?: The artist name is a play-on-words taken from my first name, Manny.

Describe your sound: An eclectic fusion of singer/songwriter and pop influences. My style is non-conforming, unique, lyric driven with smooth and unpretentious vocals.

What’s your favorite press quote about your music?: Every so often, an artist comes along with a style so discernibly different, we are forced to reevaluate established musical boundaries.

The song or songs that changed your life and why: “You Found Me” by The Fray. When I first started writing songs, I always attempted to capture the raw emotion that is the hallmark of ‘You Found Me’. It resonates with me because if we are all honest, life is friggin hard most if not all the time. Rare is the song that can capture everything we all want to say but don’t know how. Often times, as artists, we tend to shy away from the difficult topics and instead revert to writing catchy hooks.  I believe the world is full of people who are looking for songs they can claim as their personal anthem. That’s my modus operandi. To write songs that serve as a parachute for the soul. Describe the first time you walked onstage: I won’t lie. I think I needed to change my boxers if you know what I mean. At the same time, I finally felt like I found my way back ‘home’. My pilgrimage had ended and begun all at the same time. The prodigal son returning to his roots.

Why did you submit to this year’s Independent Music Awards?: Although I’m not arrogant enough to  believe my songs will bring about world peace, I do believe I have something to say and share with the masses. I’ve always felt that if I don’t share what’s inside, I will burst at the seams. I’m submitting to this year’s IMA’s because it provides independent artists the best possible vehicle and platform to get the message out. If you win and/or get nominated, how will you use your IMA honor to further your career?: There is much prestige with getting nominated and/or winning. I would leverage the full weight of my nomination/award to promote the IMA brand on my social media accounts, artist website, live events, touring and interviews. I would use it as a springboard to launch my second album release and demonstrate the effectiveness of aligning with IMA as an independent artist.

Who is your musical hero & what would you like to learn from them?: Honestly, my heroes are all the independent artists who continue to pursue their dream for the love of their craft and not the promise of a contract. These individuals have taught me that this journey will never end in disappointment because at the end of the day, we will always have our music. Anything else that happens is icing on the cake. (Don’t’ get me wrong, I like icing very much!) Where can fans follow you/purchase your music?: My music can be downloaded from all major digital outlets including iTunes and Amazon. Physical purchases are available on Amazon as well.  Fans can visit my website and find links to all of my social media sites.  http://www.manKNEE.com – See more at: http://www.independentmusicawards.com/ima/2014/discover-artists-that-joined-the-14th-imas-manknee/#sthash.flp8PAZ0.dpuf

Leave a Reply

