IndieWritersReview Welcomes The Donor by Nikki Rae! (Spotlight and Book Review)


Hello Everyone! I am so very excited that today I am participating as a host for Amazon Bestseller Author Nikki Rae’s newest release The Donor! This is the first novella in a new serial and I am very excited to share my thoughts today! So check out the deets on this read and my review below!:)

 

a fun plus 102

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

a fun plus 104

Author Bio:
Nikki Rae is a writer who lives in New Jersey. As an independent author, she has appeared numerously on Amazon Best Seller lists and she concentrates on making her imaginary characters as real as possible. Nikki writes mainly dark, scary, romantic tales, but she’ll try anything once. When she is not writing, reading, or thinking, you can find her spending time with animals, drawing in a quiet corner, or studying people. Closely.

Links!:

Goodreads

Amazon

***************************************************
a fun plus 105
Click For Your Chance To Win! a Rafflecopter giveaway
*****************************************************
a fun plus 101
Synopsis:
[Disclaimer: This is a serial novella that will be told in parts about the length of a short story (20-30 pages)]
Casey Williams and her family are poor. Her parents work non-stop and so does she, just so they can keep the trailer roof from leaking.
They’re getting by fine enough when the headaches start. Then there’s the nosebleeds. And the inevitable doctor’s bills.
Fortunately for Casey, there’s MyTrueMatch.com: an exclusive, quick, and almost easy way to pay it all back before her parents even have to know.
All she has to do is give a man she’s never met whatever he wants from her body.
*********************************************
a fun plus 106

Okay I have one word….MORE! The Donor was a tasty treat from Author Nikkie Rae, that I did not want to end. In fact, at the end I was startled (there wasn’t more!) my first thought was…”oh no she didn’t!” LOL I groaned in anxiety that the author cruelly left me as a reader hanging! But also thrilled because it really gets me excited for the second novella!

But let me start from the beginning. The Donor is the first novella in a serial that follows the tale of Casey Williams and Jonah Black. We meet Casey who is basically in dire straits. She is an eighteen year old girl working a dead-end office job that she dislikes. In order to pay for a few semesters of college and  to help financially her mother and father, who are at a loss to cover their normal bills, as well as her father’s hospital bills, she sticks with it. But she is  not only dealing with her family’s troubles, Casey is ill as well, suffering from extreme headaches and nosebleeds. Her condition worsens by the day, but she does not seek care for herself  knowing that her family cannot afford it. So when she hears two of  her office mates, Emily, who hates her and Gina, who does not hate her as much… chatting about a website called  MyTrueMatch, it appears to be a lifeline for her. After befriending the lesser of the two evils… Gina, she discovers it is a website accessible by invite only, that services provided are for  a certain clientele with specific requests and desires. The clientele major base’s, main common element is that those  who subscribed are very wealthy and will recompense well.

Seeing this as a last ditch effort to help her family, Casey allows Gina to submit her picture and information, after days she receives an invite to the site. There she meets Jonah, who she realizes seems different to many of those on the website. He appears very honest about himself and she likes that he desires to get to know her first…but her only concern is that he does not send any images of himself, as if he is hiding something. But as things worsens at home, after a month of corresponding, Casey agrees to meet with Jonah and from that meeting everything changes!

 

I believe Author Nikkie Rae did an excellent job with The Donor. She met the challenge of providing an interesting story-line that keeps readers on the edge of their seat with characters that the reader will care about. The fact that Ms. Rae was able to doso in such a short work is incredible! I enjoyed the story and was thoroughly upset when I realized  that I would have to wait to find out what happens with Casey and Jonah! But  each part appears to be released quickly, so my wait will not be too long with the second novella scheduled as an August release! Woot!

 

The novella was well-written, the paced flowed…there was enough mystery to keep me invested in the story and wanting to know what’s next! I liked Casey,her strength and courage and I liked Jonah his gentleness and caring personality. But there is still that slight edge, not knowing what he actually has planned for Casey!

 

I fully recommend The Donor by Author Nikki Rae!

2 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview Welcomes The Donor by Nikki Rae! (Spotlight and Book Review)

  1. I love the cover. I’m finding more that covers without people on them are appealing to me. I’m intrigued by the idea of a publishing serialised stories. The Vampire Hunter’s Daughter was released in six parts and it worked well for the author.

    • I believe that will be the next wave we see…I will admit as a reader, it is very advantages…having the option to still read a favorite book in bite sizes due to a busy schedule:) I’m seeing more and more authors doing this and I believe its a great idea:)

Leave a Reply

