IndieWritersReview Welcome Breaking Lauren by Jordan Deen (Innovative Online Book Tours)


Hello Everyone! Today I am very happy to participate as a host for Breaking Lauren by Jordan Deen as part of her Innovative Online Book tour. Please check out the deets and awesome excerpt below!

a breaking lauren banner

A awesome breaking lauren

BIO:

Jordan Deen is a Young Adult and New Adult Fiction writer from a small suburb of East St. Louis, Illinois. Her novels are a mixture of urban fantasy, paranormal and edgy contemporary. In her free time, she loves to read, bake, attend concerts, travel and play with her two-legged and four-legged sons. She is known for her love of quirky clothes, multi-colored hair and has a fondness for tattoos, high heels and cupcakes. In addition, she is a tech junkie that can be found most mornings and early afternoons on her tablet talking to folks on Facebook and Twitter about books, current events and music.

Her debut novel, ‘The Crescent’ was a 2010 Reader’s Favorite Award Winner. Her third novel, ‘Breaking Lauren’ was a Texas Book Association Finalist in 2013.

ONLINE LINKS:

BUY NOW LINK:

Breaking Lauren

a awesome Breaking Lauren QR Code Cover

BLURB:

Seventeen-year-old Danny Cummings’ life is far from a fairytale, but that’s okay since he doesn’t believe in happy endings. After spending a year in juvenile hall for maliciously beating his sister’s boyfriend, Danny embraces his badass image. Spending most nights drinking, fighting and collecting gambling debts for his Uncle, Danny’s life is out of control. His addiction to the bad boy lifestyle won’t let him do anything about it, even with his family begging him to go straight. But, when fifteen-year-old Lauren McIntosh stumbles into one of his nightly escapades, the self-proclaimed anti-romantic can’t concentrate on anything except Lauren and the fact that she’s on the same path his sister was on. Danny knows true love happening for the villain is as common as gamblers paying their debt on time, but he’s never backed away from a challenge before and he hates the idea that history will repeat itself.

Growing old with the man she loves-in the small town where she was born-is the only dream Lauren McIntosh has ever had; that is until her family is practically run out of town amidst rumors of arson and adultery. So, when she meets Danny at her new school and hears the rumors about his activities from her new friends, she wants nothing to do with him or the gossip that seems to follow Danny everywhere. After a dangerous and ill-fated attempt at sneaking out, she develops unwelcomed feelings for Danny that he seems to reciprocate. But, Danny’s unrelenting pursuit makes Lauren nervous, especially since he’s the only one that wants to know the secrets surrounding her family’s move. Lauren can’t tell if Danny’s intentions are true or if he has other plans for their newfound and unlikely friendship. The only way to figure out is to let him in and that could destroy everything, including the popularity and social acceptance she desperately seeks.

EXCERPT

Lauren’s Excerpts:

  • Before I can object, she drags me out of her bedroom, down the hallway, and right out the front door. We’re heading up the sidewalk in less than a minute. My heart races faster and faster the further we get from the house. Adrenaline pulses through my muscles, screaming for me to stop and go back to the safety of the house. This is crazy. If mom finds out I’m out after curfew, I’m a goner.
  • We sit in a corner booth next to the jukebox. Alexis pulls money from her purse and goes to get sodas and nachos. But forget it—she can’t bribe me with $1.50 day old chips and caffeine. Anyone in here might know my parents, and if I get caught, I’m never going to be allowed to leave the house again. Not to mention the little run in on the sidewalk with Danny. He could be pissed and getting his pose of hoes primed to kick the crap out of me for ruining his jacket.
  • Trying to figure out my next move, I bury my face deep into the pillow. It is hard and warm and comforting—but in a different way. I tug at it and he groans, “Careful, I’m bruised there.” Danny’s voice sounds like velvet in the dark. He half chuckles and moves his hand from my side to the curve of my back, letting the tips of his fingers caress my thin tank top. My cheek rests on his chest; the warm skin of his side burns my palm.
  • Out of control emotions ball up in me, and before I know it, my arm is in motion. The palm of my hand connects squarely with Brandon’s cheek. I’m just as shocked at my action as he is. My hand stings instantly. I regret smacking him, but not because it was inappropriate, but because I didn’t think it would hurt me so bad.
  • We all stand there, locked in an uncomfortable tug of war. I study their embrace; her whole body is pushed so tightly to his. His strong forearms are wrapped around her, with his hands resting on the small of her back. Her barely-there dress is hiked up almost past her butt; from what I can see, she has no underwear on. Someone kill me now. I’m just a failed fling, that girl could’ve been me. How can I have been so stupid?

 

 

Leave a Reply

