IndieWritersReview: STEAMPUNK Novels


Hello Guys:) Thought I would catch up with you for a quick moment, because I am all kinds of excited, since I have started researching my upcoming new short which will have SteamPunk Tendencies! ,lol I have entered the Author/Media Consultant BK Walker’s Spring Bound Writing Challenge! Sponsored by the Face Book Group Coffee & Books!

Take the challenge.

March 1 – 31 make the commitment to write your book in 31 days. 

10,000 – 20,000 words makes a novella around 100 pages

50,000 – 55,000 words makes a novel around 200 pages

a fun plus 101

So-o-o-o- I have always been a little curious about STEAMPUNK...the name was cool, and I always liked the outfits and gadgets associated with that genre:) ,lol So I decided to create a short with SteamPunk Tendencies:) But I had to do my research…started with…yep, that’s right…good ole Wikipedia, which says…

“Steampunk is a sub-genre of science fiction that typically features steam-powered machinery,[1] especially in a setting inspired by industrialisedWestern civilisation during the 19th century. Steampunk works are often set in an alternative history of the 19th century’s British Victorian era orAmerican “Wild West”, in a post-apocalyptic future during which steam power has regained mainstream use, or in a fantasy world that similarly employs steam power.”

Hmmm, even after reading the definition, I still found myself scratching my head! So I figured I needed to do MORE research, and I did a search on Goodreads, and found some awesome titles tagged as STEAMPUNK...I’ll definitely try them out!:)

Now I will  keep you guys in the loop on the challenge and  Guys, you are invited to join Coffee & Books and the writing challenge on Face Book:O)

Hey do you guys know of any great stories with Steam Punk tendencies??? If so, what are they???:O)

Here are a few I found!

a fun plus 101a fun plus 102a fun plus 103a fun plus 104a fun plus 105a fun plus 108

9 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview: STEAMPUNK Novels

  1. You do know that there are lots of Steampunk festivals also. My favorite inspiration is The Charles River Museum of Industry in Waltham, MA http://crmi.org/ that sometimes has events there. Friends of mine do dress up and go to these Festivals (I have yet to attend one), but I do know it well enough to pass off some attire.

    • Emma, I looked it up and you’re speaking of the K.W.Jeter novel correct? Yes, it’s classified as SteamPunk and seems pretty interesting, I mean who wouldn’t want a device that allows you to see the future…and the main character learns 20th century slang through lip-reading! ,lol how cool is that? (There was another Infernal Devices but that was in the Mortal Instruments series, and that would not be classified as SteamPunk from the info found…) but cool thanks:O)

      • I literally just finished re-reading the first book, City of Bones, ten minutes ago. It’s a fantastic series. Action-packed, and I love the banter and sarcasm between the characters. Enjoy.

      • I will:O) I’m starting Book Two…now the spin-off? Emma, I stand corrected…I believe you were correct The Infernal Devices IS a SteamPunk…hmmm idk, but Im looking forward reading those as well…Make sure to check out the Movie…I’m glad they’re making a second one, I don’t believe it was given a fair shot…I loved it…anyway yep Enjoy:)

Leave a Reply

