IndieWritersReview’s Book Review of A Taylor-Made Life by Kary Rader!


book review

Hello Everyone! Today I wished to share my thoughts regarding an incredible read, a Taylor-Made Life by Kary Rader!

A TAYLOR-MADE LIFE

a taylor made life1

Amazon

BLURB

They lived the life they were given; they loved the life they made.

Cheerleader Taylor Smith doesn’t want to die a virgin. Unfortunately, if the terminally-ill leukemia patient doesn’t find a lover or a stem-cell match within months, her fear will become reality. When her cancer mentor is revealed to be a hottie entrepreneur from California, it seems fate might finally be on her side.

Tech-geek Gavin Taylor has everything he ever wanted, except someone to grieve for him when he’s gone. With his melanoma cancer beyond the help of his riches, he agrees to participate in a cancer patient mentoring program where he’s matched with a dying teen from Texas. Despite his immediate attraction, the Silicon Valley whiz intends only to provide friendship and happy memories to the beautiful, young woman who is determined to win his love.

When it’s discovered that his frozen sperm and her harvested eggs could lead to a cure, Taylor’s mother offers to be a surrogate. And Gavin must decide if he can risk the heart he has never given and a child he’ll never know to a girl he just met.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

a Kary Rader

Kary Rader is a stay-at-home mother of three, avid reader and slave to the characters and worlds inside her head.

Always creative, she’s drawn to stories with fantastical worlds and creatures. With a little bit of magic and divine guidance, there isn’t anything that can’t be accomplished. And it’s the power of words that creates and destroys.

Vanquishing evil and injustice while finding eternal love in the process is all in a day’s work. And with the help of her critique partners and master cartographer imaginary places come to life.

Let the fantasy begin…

Contact: Kary Rader’s website

Guest Post

A Blessing that Hurts by Kary Rader

I received an email the other day telling me how A Taylor-Made Life had helped someone who’d lost a loved one to cancer.

As I read the pouring out of her heart in that message, I smiled through my tears, because I knew she’d truly been touched and healed. How did I know? Because this story did the same thing for me as I wrote it. The words are inexplicably healing, but not because of how I chose them. Don’t get me wrong. I believe my story is a good one, but, like I say in my acknowledgments, God makes them into something more, something beyond mere words on the page, something that has the ability to touch a hurt and heal it.

When you have a wound that’s buried and festering, the only thing to do is to clean it, let the toxins out. This book does that. I don’t know how, but it does. Since its release I’ve received many letters from people all over the world telling me how the story touched them and gave them hope.

When I was pregnant with my youngest son, Brady, and my husband was diagnosed with cancer, I went through some serious emotions. By the way, how Gavin found out about melanoma is exactly how my husband found out. At that time I was a stay-at-home mother of two and my wonderful sweet husband, also the provider for our family, was gravely ill. The stress of his treatments, not knowing if he would live, and seeing him suffer would pound me into the ground at times. Then there was the fear of wondering how I would take care of my family if I lost him and that took on a whole new level of scary for me. I would get on my hand and knees after everyone had gone to bed, trembling and crying out to God to save him and help us.

Thank God, Bret was finally diagnosed as cancer-free less than 1 month before Brady was born. As soon as he finished his last treatment and released from Dr. supervision, we had to get ready to be parents again. I buried all the stress. Never thought about it and went on with my life. Until October 2011 when the 2-yr-old daughter of a good friend was diagnosed with a tumor. It was then that I was plunged back into the world of cancer like a soldier remembers battle. It felt very much like PTSD with similar symptoms.

Worried about my friend and her sweet daughter, I did the only thing I could-I prayed.  Sometimes prayer isn’t just the best answer; it’s the only answer. Out of my prayers this story was born.

I have a love/hate relationship with this story. How can you love something that hurts so badly? How could Gavin, my hero, embrace his cancer at the end? Because he knew—like I also now know—that it led him down a path he could’ve never found on his own.

I’d hug you all if I could, but instead I’m saying a blessing over you – May the God of Peace and Healing preside over you. May every step be lighter and the burden lessened. May you walk in a joy unhindered, and may you feel His love (and mine) today!

My Review

***This is a short review, but it is heartfelt***

I will refrain from giving a detailed re-telling of the story of A Taylor-Made Life due to the blurb gives excellent insight into the happenings. I will focus on my impressions as a reader  of this incredible work! A Taylor-Made Life is well written, with a wonderful pace and flow. I will say that I fell in love with both Taylor and Gavin…their strength and their love for the other. The story is a heart breaking journey, giving insights into the daily workings of two individuals, that are brave enough to love and want more, when knowing they do not have much time left. It’s an emotional roller coaster, although there were humorous moments throughout the story. A Taylor-Made Life inspired me to live better and love better. It isnt sad or depressing, it is a gorgeous  telling of living life to the fullest!

I fully recommend this book and I look forward to more works by this author!:O)

Leave a Reply

