IndieWritersReview’s Book Review of Oaths of Blood (Ascension #2) by S.M. Reine


book review

Hello All!  Today I wanted to share my thoughts on the newest release from the fantastically talented S. M. Reine’s newest release Oaths of Blood (Ascension #2).

About Author S.M. Reine

s.m. reine author pic

Hi everyone! My name is Sara, and I write urban fantasy and paranormal novels as SM Reine. I collect swords, cat hair, and typewriters (which I do use for writing!). It’s a good day when those three things have nothing to do with each other.

If you would like to know the instant my next book is available, you should enlist in my Army of Evil! We have a wicked cool secret handshake, but you’ll have to sign up to learn it. 😉 Check it out —http://smarturl.it/armyofevil

a sm reine cover

Synopsis

Werewolves are immune to every illness and can heal any wound. It should be impossible for one to become possessed by a demon. But that’s exactly what Seth Wilder is facing: a werewolf gone insane from possession. He has no choice but to deliver her to the only exorcist in America, Elise Kavanagh, who also happens to be a powerful demon known as the Godslayer.

Elise is in hiding when Seth and Rylie Gresham, Alpha werewolf, arrive seeking her help. She agrees, but everything has its price. What they learn about the possessed werewolf changes everything–Hell and Earth, the pack, and the future of the entire world…

My review

I have read several titles by this author and I am never disappointed. I will say that this one, Oaths of Blood was the toughest emotionally, I truly felt as if I had been taken through an emotional ringer. Sadly, due to  it would be a massive spoiler, and also I would not want to steal the opportunity for you guys to enjoy this roller coaster ride yourselves–I can’t say too much more about the major element of this story that threw me for a major loop. No, actually…S.M. Reine picked up I believe the biggest literary brick in her possession, and threw it right towards me! LOl– I got it right in the heart…I could not believe the twist that occurred and my hope upon hope is that somehow S.M. Reine will have pity on her faithful readers and provide a miracle!

Okay, Okay I cannot say more…But let me stop, and go back to the beginning. This installation of the adventures of the Godslayer  Elise Kavanagh, a former Demon Hunter, now demon…not only demon…but called Father by the other demons…is a real doozy!

It all began when the wolf pack from Ms. Reine’s  Seasons of the Moon and Cain Chronicles, were  combined with the Demon Hunter and her crew from the Descent series…The brothers Abel and Seth had made the discovery of a crazed wolf  which they brought back to their pack and leader Rylie. Attempts had been made to help the young wolf, but nothing could be done, it was discovered that the young woman was possessed by a demon…therefore, Seth–  who actually was  trained as a wolf hunter— but now was attached to the pack, due to his former love Rylie, was now the leader (Alpha) and his brother was a werewolf as well. Although, Seth– immune to the werewolf curse–Seth is beginning to feel as if he no longer has a place with the pack, nothing really to offer…(Although, information that surfaced in the previous book revealed that Seth was very special and now forces were wanting to use him for their purposes).

So Seth volunteers to take the sick wolf across the country to see Elise, because she is the foremost exorcist. Once arriving, Seth finds himself involved in a burgeoning war between Elise with her camp, (and yes, I am going Buffy for a second ,lol)…and the Big Bad, who desires to bring Hell to Earth.

Seth joins allegiance with Elise, and the battle begins with twists, turns,heart-breaks, triumphs and more…

I really have no words to impress, how much I absolutely love the books by S.M. Reine. Oaths of Blood is well written, well plot and paced. There is no lag time, action is continuous…even if it’s just in the form of  the back story…that’s interesting too!

I am still striving to go back and make my way through the Descent series, to find out HOW Elise and James find themselves as they do…James is bound mystically to Elise, although within this story they are at odds…but the thrill ride Ms. Reine provides is so incredible! As a reader you feel so much a part of the story… that afterwards I have to read something in a completely different genre, no action or adventure…just to allow my emotions to even out!

I will say one of my favorite characters is  James, he is just… I will have to say it … he is one of my favorite book boyfriends! He’s a witch and a scholar.,..intelligent, noble with just enough edge to make you wonder if he plays for the darkness or the light!

Love, Love, Love Him! I want those two to be together, it is driving me crazy Ms. Reine! ,lol

But I highly recommend Oaths of Blood (Ascension#2) and if you have read none of Ms. Reine’s books, then I am so jealous of you, because you have a treat coming…start at the beginning and enjoy!

I recommend this title for those that enjoy Fantasy, Paranormal with action  and adventure. I will also say more appropriate for older teens and adults.

Leave a Reply

