IndieWritersReview Welcomes Journey To Jazzland by Gia Volterra De Saulnier! ( VBT Cafe Virtual Book Tour)


Journey To Jazzland

by Gia Volterra De Saulnier

About The Author:Gia headshot for J2J

Born and raised in Fairhaven, Massachusetts and attended University of Lowell (now University of Massachusetts, Lowell). It was there that I learned to love jazz. I have been performing jazz and other kinds of music for over 20 years, throughout the New England area. I live in North Reading, Massachusetts with my husband Richard, and my son Charlie.

Blog | Facebook | Twitter

Genre: Children’s Book

Publisher: Flying Turtle Publishing

Release Date: July 1, 2013

Amazon

Book Description:

Join Windy Flute, Spitz Trumpet and their friends as they travel to a legendary place where music is joyous, creative and free.

Excerpt:

One day during an orchestra rehearsal, Windy Flute was playing a piece of music and her mind started to wander. Over and over, she had practiced this piece and played this piece. Feeling bored, she felt that she wanted to be a little different.

Then something special happened. She began to hear notes that weren’t on the page of sheet music on her stand! When she started playing what she heard, Windy realized these new notes made her feel better. The harmonies and the melodies were the same, but the music moved differently. Before she could figure things out, she was interrupted by a stern voice.

Excuse me, Ms. Flute, do you mind playing with the rest of us? Where do you think you are — Jazzland?” said Mr. Conductor, scowling down at her.

After the rehearsal, Mr. Conductor gave Windy a severe look and stomped off the stage.

Windy turned to her friends in the woodwind section. “What’s Jazzland?” she asked. She was still thinking about the good feelings she got from playing different notes.

It’s a myth,” said Mr. Bassoon.

That’s right,” said Mr. Oboe, “It’s a legend. It doesn’t really exist.”

I think it exists,” said Spitz Trumpet.

GUEST POST
Gia Volterra De Saulnier

From Jazz jammer to children’s picture book author

 Next stop on the Virtual Blog Tour is for my new pal at Indie Writer Reviews – +Michelle Jordan with https://indiewritersreview.wordpress.com/ – I’m super stoked about this one since this also goes along with the http://www.virtualbooktourcafe.com/3/post/2013/09/indiereview-behind-the-scenes-internet-radio-100000-listeners-arts-festival.html on November 15th (8 pm EST, 7 CST) which will be ONLINE and LIVE!

I was thinking of writing another post that I was prompted about (which I’ll remain hush about), but I decided that this was better –

I started playing jazz in College (University of Lowell – now University of Massachusetts, Lowell) and I even played with the Big Band (once) – “Lullaby of Birdland” (great tune by the way), but then when I left college, the jazz left me with a bug of wanting to play.

I started living in Boston, MA area (or surrounding there) in 1990 or so and found different places to play my flute, but my first endeavor was Johnny D’s in Somerville, MA http://johnnyds.com/ which was a little scary at first, but I did it and it was such a rush playing!

After that, I started playing at the Cantab, in Cambridge, MA http://www.cantab-lounge.com/index.html – of which I became the “Flute chick”.

I wrote the book for a class project (which I already posted/blogged about) but I never thought it was going to be published!  I was just extremely lucky that Flying Turtle Publishing http://www.flyingturtlepublishing.com) decided to take me on.

The main goal with this book is to help kids learn about music in a fun way and not in an overwhelming way with theory and notes, but with excitement over the characters.  I truly believe that the illustrator, Emily Zieroth really did an incredibly amazing job with the art that I originally did (which was okay by the way but nothing like she did – which was a zillion times better).

I hope that this book helps bring music back to Elementary schools across the Nation.  It is really heart breaking to me that music is being cut for other services (which is also needed), but studies have shown that music is said to help with math, language and distress.  I’m not saying that all children should be forced to learn music, but when I was in Second Grade (age 7 or 8) I was learning how to play the wooden recorder and then by Fourth Grade (age 11), I was learning how to play the flute.

I hope this encourages you to learn more about music or jazz and teach your children about music and jazz if they ask you about it – Guest post out – until we meet online 😀

4 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview Welcomes Journey To Jazzland by Gia Volterra De Saulnier! ( VBT Cafe Virtual Book Tour)

Leave a Reply

