IndieWritersReview’s Book Review: Love, Life and Everything Else by Xunaira J!


book review

Hello everyone, today I wanted to share my thoughts of the upcoming release Love, Life and Everything Else! Author Xunaira Javed’s newest title will be released October 17th! Please check out the deets below:)

a xun cover

Blurb:

Meet Sarah, a nine year old girl with a talent for painting and an adoptive family who supports her in everything she does. She lives a happy life with her foster father who is her idol and her foster mother who loves her unconditionally. Little does she know that her past will come back to haunt her and an atrocity that happened nine year ago would come to light. What will be Sarah’s reaction when her biological parents claim her?

Sandy is scared, worried and somewhat irritated because of the weird voices she hears from the attic above. With the help of her best friend, Anne, she decides to find out the source of this all racket but what will she find hidden up there? Would the truth shock her?

Will the frail, old and lonely novelist who had managed to incur an emotion so inside him be able to change the course of his life?

Self-made and hardworking Jenny was looking forward to the opening ceremony of her novel when she is subjected to the hatred and scorn of her best friend, Cindy and made a laughingstock in town. Will Jenny be able to hold her head high?

a xunaira

About The Author

Biography:

Born on October 17, 1990 in Islamabad, Pakistan, to a government officer and a homemaker, Xunaira J, as a child dreamed of being a writer. She always loved writing short stories and has been active on Helium (www.helium.com) as a creative writer. She has been a blogger and been writing articles on relationship and family. When she was young she used to write for US Magazine. Currently, Xunaira is doing her Bachelors in Mobile and Ubiquitous Computing from SZABIST (Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology, Islamabad). The name of her book on Amazon Kindle is “The Cursed City”. Meanwhile, she is working on another mystery novel which is almost reaching completion. She is anticipating publishing it sometime next year.

Social media links:

Facebook: http://facebook.com/revampinglif3

Twitter: http://twitter.com/xunairaj

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/109811803218021913965/posts

About.me: http://about.me/xunairaj

Amazon: http://amazon.com/author/xunairajaved

Blog: http://xunairaj.wordpress.com/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/Xunaira

My Review

I was so excited when receiving an advanced review copy of Life, Love &Everything Else! I loved the cover and was anxious to see what was inside:) The book is actually a compilation of four stories:

Abandoned in the Alley

Footsteps in the Attic

The Novelist

The Ribbon Cutting Ceremony

I enjoyed all of the stories, but due to the book has not been released as of yet, I will discuss only one story in detail summary as to limit the amount of spoilers:)

Abandoned in the Alley, follows socially conscious Alice Mayberry, who is the Founder and owner of Mayberry Foster Care. The story opens with Alice awaiting a unknown, although from the description unsavory character, in the dank, roughest part of town. So of course my first thought was, wow. Why was she really there and what could she have to do with such a character? But it is shown to be kismet when Alice, tired of waiting for the no show appointment; prepared to leave but stopped when she heard the cries of the a child. She followed the cries of what sounded like a small infant. She soon sees a small child on a heap of garbage, with rodents and such attempting to chew on the blanket!

Immediately Alice takes the child back to her center and cares for her for four years! Soon the child Sarah grows and is adopted, but her new adopted parents are wonderful to Sarah, and she loves them completely as well. But the family’s fragile happiness is threaten as the dark details surrounding Sarah’s past comes to the present, and threatens to take Sarah away from the only family she knows!

I loved this story because it had the suspenseful elements I am attracted to when reading a story. My thoughts ran rampant from oh my goodness, who would put a small child on a garbage heap?! Was there something wrong with those in the child’s life? Or was it the child? I was stumped! The book’s darker tinged theme surprised me when I began reading. I believed the book would be geared more towards aiding the young adult with daily life and emotional challenges, which they all faced.

So when I began reading I was really surprised! I mean, I would have enjoyed either way, but the author’s ability to keep me on edge, and surprise me while reading…well, that thrilled me! Awesome job:)

I will not go into full detail regarding the other stories so as to not spoil them….but I will say that overall the book was well written, pace was perfect…loved the suspense, I believe Ms. Javed has a real niche in the suspense genre!

I recommend this book for all ages, and I look forward to Ms. Javed’s future work!

7 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview’s Book Review: Love, Life and Everything Else by Xunaira J!

Leave a Reply

