IndieWritersReview’s review of Sacrificed in Shadow (The Ascension Series) by S.M. Reine!


Hello, Hello everyone! Today I share my thoughts on my newest read:) Sacrificed in Shadow (The Ascension Series) by S.M. Reine. So check it out below!

s.m. reine author pic

About this author 
Hi everyone! My name is Sara, and I write urban fantasy and paranormal novels as SM Reine. I collect swords, cat hair, and typewriters (which I do use for writing!). It’s a good day when those three things have nothing to do with each other.
If you would like to know the instant my next book is available, you should enlist in my Army of Evil! We have a wicked cool secret handshake, but you’ll have to sign up to learn it. 😉 Check it out — http://smarturl.it/armyofevil

sacrificed in shadowLincol n Marshall is a small-town deputy with a very big problem. Six members of his church have been found dead, killed by a rogue werewolf. He’ll have to make a deal with the Devil to save victims that have gone missing — maybe literally.

Elise Kavanagh, preternatural investigator and exorcist, is the expert when it comes to violent deaths at the jaws of evil. She’s also the demon known as the Godslayer. Elise jumps at Lincoln’s case, and it’s not just because of his down-home charm. Someone’s laid a trap for her in Northgate, and she wants to find out who.

She’ll have to team up with Rylie Gresham, Alpha of the last surviving werewolf pack, to figure out who’s trying to blame the murders on werewolves. Only together can they stop the killings — and uncover the secrets buried in Northgate.

Grab a copy at  Amazon
Overview
the cain chroniclesI became a S.M. Reine fan as I followed her wolves series The Cain Chronicles! This series follows Rylie Gresham as she  makes the transition to not only becoming a Werewolf, but Alpha of her pack. In the midst of this turmoil, she meets the brothers Seth and Abel. Laced through the entire series is action, adventure and passion. I was already a wolf fan and I felt that S.M. Reine did a wonderful job with this series, I was on pins and needles (always) waiting for the the next to be released!:O) When the last in the series was released, I really did not know what I was going to do?:)
But then there came Sacrificed in Shadow (The Ascension) which reunited my favorites in The Cain Chronicles with that of S. M. Reine’s other bestselling series!!
descent seriesNow this Urban Fantasy series is new to me, but it  follows Elise Kavanagh and James Faulkner Demon Hunters!
sacrificed in shadowIn Sacrificed in Shadow  S.M. Reine combined the characters from her popular series begins with Elise Kavanagh  being summoned to Grove County where a series of murders are happening and Werewolves are being blamed;Rylie Gresham, Seth and Abel come into the mix. So Elise, who the reader realizes is supernatural and powerful— the mystery surrounding her origins— unravels throughout the story. Elise dives straight into the mystery facing her, but she is very equipped to handle the danger plaguing the citizens in Grove County; plus Lincoln Marshall the very upright and conservative Deputy Lincoln Marshall has also peaked Elise’s interest. She suspects he is attracted to her, but due to her Demonic nature he is trying to resist. Elise makes it to Grove County where she discovers far more than a simple Werewolf problem, everything from a cult to a discovery leading back to the Garden of Eden, nothing or no one is as they seem, and if she is to survive, Elise has to discover who she can or can not trust.
Review
I am so excited about the Ascension series! I loved Sacrifice in Shadow because there was action right from the beginning. S.M. Reine is a master at creating characters that are very well developed, this coupled with gripping, edgy description, a fast paced plot, Ms. Reine’s books become addictive. I enjoyed how in Sacrificed in Shadows I saw a dimension of old favorites such as Rylie, Seth and Abel in a new light. From an outsider’s point of view, I was privy to a completely  in depth view of these characters. Yes, I knew Rylie was strong, capable and loyal—but seeing the same Wolf Alpha through Elise’s eyes was so very cool. The young girl became even more fierce and the pack’s loyalty and unity took on even more depth to me.
Although I was drawn to Sacrifice in Shadow due to my love of The Cain Chronicles, I became to enjoy and admire and really like Elise the Demon Hunter. She was fascinating to me with her history of once being human to Demon to wow, even more a span of history that dates back to the Garden Of Eden.
I was fascinated in how Ms. Reine was able to bring in legends and interweave this into her story, which made for a wonderful rich, and entertaining read.
I look forward to the next in the Ascension series, and I am also very happy because I have the entire Descent series to learn more of Elise and get caught up to be ready for the October release of the next book in the Ascension series!
descent seriesRight now the first three  books in The Descent Series by S. M. Reine are free on Amazon
4 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview’s review of Sacrificed in Shadow (The Ascension Series) by S.M. Reine!

    • Thanks:) I really enjoyed Sara’s books and I’m so excited because I have a whole new series to become familiar with. The Descent series:) I always feel slightly giddy when I know I have multiple books ahead to read and enjoy(I’m a dork:O) and then after that right into a new Ascension, so I’m happy. And yeah, it’s pretty cool the things she collects, I liked the old stand up typewriters myself, I always wanted one and a roll top desk! One day will have it:)

Leave a Reply

