IndieWritersReview’s Review of Santeria Habitat Series by Kenya Wright (Dragon Fairy Press)


kenya wrightauthorHello everyone! Today I wanted to share  my thoughts on a great new series (well, new to me:) the Habitat Series by Kenya Wright from Dragon Fairy Press! The series FIRE BAPTIZED and BURNING BUSH are the first installations in the series with WILDFIRE GOSPEL coming September 2013!

About this author

Join the mailing list to stay up-to-date with free books, giveaways, and new releases!

Kenya Wright always knew she would be famous since the ripe old age of six when she sang the Michael Jackson thriller song in her bathroom mirror. She has tried her hand at many things from enlisting in the Navy for six years as a Persian-Farsi linguist to being a nude model at an art university.

However, writing has been the only constant love in her life. Will she succeed? Of course.

For she has been coined The Urban Fantasy Queen, the Super Iconic Writer of this Age, The Lyrical Genius of Our Generation. Granted, these are all terms coined by her, within the private walls of her bathroom as she still sings the Michael Jackson thriller song.

Kenya Wright currently resides in Miami with her three amazing, overactive children, a supportive, gorgeous husband, and three cool black cats that refuse to stop sleeping on Kenya’s head at night.

Santeria Habitat Series

kenya wright cover 1

kenya wright cover2

COMING SEPTEMBER 2013

WILDFIRE GOSPEL!

kenya writght cover 3

MY REVIEW

This is a review of the first two books Fire Baptized and Burning Bush. I grabbed a copy of Fire Baptized off of Amazon being drawn in by the arresting cover and then I knew I had to read when reading the book description. I was not disappointed. So drawn into Lanore Vesta’s world that immediately within minutes after finishing Fire Baptized I purchased a copy of Burning Bush!

The Santeria Habitat series is an Urban Fantasy which details a world that incorporates the Supernatural and the Human world. Fire Baptized-In this world the Supernaturals are placed in caged cities. Lanore lives in the Shango district and there we see her story open up with her witnessing a brutal killing of one of the local Mixies(this is when a supernatural being is a mixed breed of two different supernatural parents) PureBloods are those that of course have two parents of the same Supernatural heritage. Mixie’s are looked down on by the Humans that monitor the Caged Magical cities as well as by PureBloods. So when Mixies are murdered no officials take it seriously. But due to the fact Lanore is a witness, then it becomes personal for her, since now her life is in danger. Lanore begins to investigate the murders with the help of her longtime childhood friend/Ex-Boyfriend MeShack and her present love interest Zulu, which take the friends on an adrenaline rush journey to find the killer and save Lanore’s life.

Burning Bush brings Lanore, Meshack, Zulu along with some new characters in this second installment which goes a little deeper into the world of Lanore and a new case of Murder arise with the killing of a Mixie and PureBlood in a very eerie fashion. Here Lanore is brought once again into the mix of a deadly game of cat and mouse where now not only her life but those she loves are endangered.

I will say that I was drawn in from the first page of Fire Baptized! I know this might seem to be a cliché, but I am completely honest when I say that within the first few pages I knew I was hooked on the Santeria series and a new fan of Author Kenya Wright! The gritty, no-nonsense way of Ms. Wright’s writing  was engaging and entertaining. The story line fresh, and compelling. The fast paced flow leaving no room for boredom in either book! The description of each character and the society of Lanore Vesta kept me engrossed. I so enjoyed this series, I find it difficult to wait until September for the third installation!:)

I fully recommend for readers of Fantasy and Paranormal. Due to mature things I rate this as Mature for Adults. But I will say this is a must read!

Check out the Book trailer for Book One Fire Baptized!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview’s Review of Santeria Habitat Series by Kenya Wright (Dragon Fairy Press)

  1. This series kicks serious butt! Meshack and Zulu make my toes curl! Lucky Lanore. I have yet to read the third book. Will have to fix that!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s