Welcome Dark Whiskey by Emma Meade! (Review)


emma meadeHello Everyone! Today I would like to share my thought on a excellent read:) I am hosting Dark Whiskey: A Short Horror Story by Author Emma Meade!

About this author
Emma Meade writes paranormal fiction.

She lives in rainy Ireland and loves all things supernatural. Stephen King’s The Stand is one of her most loved books and she’s lost count of the number of times she’s read L.J. Smith’s trilogy, The Forbidden Game.

Books, DVDS & TV show boxsets take up lots of space in her home and she collects all the Point Horror books she can get her hands on.

She is not ashamed to admit that Dirty Dancing and Twilight make her top ten movie list but wishes to point out that The Last of the Mohicans, Reality Bites, Dead Poets Society, Stand by Me and The Goonies are in there too.

Writing supernatural stories & watching marathon re-runs of Buffy are some of her favorite ways of escaping reality.

Contact: Emma Meade’s Website

Emma’s Ramblings on Supernatural Fiction (Blog)

Twitter:  @EmmaMeadeIrl

 

Dark Whiskey: A Short Horror Story by Emma Meade

darkwhiskey-682x1024

Amazon

Jesse senses something off about the nightclub. She wants to leave, but her best friend, Tasha, is determined to have a night to remember. There’s no way she’s turning down an invite to the VIP section.

Against Jesse’s better judgement, she follows Tasha up the ivory staircase to the mysterious room above. The whiskey and champagne are flowing, and pretty soon the blood will be too.

 

My Thoughts

Dark Whiskey was a tasty morsel that left me wanting more:O)

Following the tale of  small town girls Jesse and her friend Tasha, who stray far from their hick town of Bishop Grove to travel far and away to the big city to a ultra chic night club. There to help her friend Tasha to climb out of her slump and unhappiness over being dumped. Jesse attempts to support Tasha by hanging in  at the posh spot, although Jess begins to get a sever case of the heebie jeebies about the club:)

Something’s not quite right…

Fast forward both girls are invited to the VIP section, where Jess noticed that regular folks were hob-nobbing , with some of the most gorgeous, posh men and women, that Jess had ever seen. Unnaturally beautiful, these individuals caused Jess to be very uncomfortable with her instincts on high alert. In her heart Jess knew that something was not right about the club. Even after meeting Eli the very handsome owner, who plied Jess with attention, giving her whatever she desired from her favorite drink, to playing her favorite song back from when she was younger. Nevertheless, with a part of her screaming “get out”, Jess tried unsuccessfully to get Tasha to follow suite, and then as the nights events unfold, Jess regrets not following that inner voice.

I do not wish to spoil the ending, due to this being  a short read,but I will say that I enjoyed Dark Whiskey   immensely. One of my favorite quotes from the story was when in describing her friendship with Tasha, Jess says

“She was the yin to my yang, the Thelma to my Louise”.

Loved that. The story had a wonderful moody atmosphere, the VIP room, with its misty white or pale frosty blue theme and glassy bar, tables and walls. was described as an ice palace.

I will say, I know that I am probably not to like Eli, because of let’s say certain developments in the story:) But I really cannot help myself, he has a bit of the wildness that I loved about my first book boyfriend Tristan from Emma Meade’s Night Sighs:) So yep, although the author gave a slight hint at the way things would be at the end, I somewhat wished for a different path for the couple! ( I mean things aren’t set in stone right?:O))

Well written, steady pace, there was not a time I was bored with Dark Whiskey. The anticipation simply grew.

I would love to see these characters again, Jess, and Eli, great read!

Dark, Moody and Seductive, a must read if you enjoy paranormals with a little bite! (,lol okay I could not help myself:)

Recommended for 17 years and up!

4 thoughts on “Welcome Dark Whiskey by Emma Meade! (Review)

  1. I loved Dark Whiskey. Looks like we felt the same way about parts of it. That was one of my favorite quotes too and it helped me to connect with them and get a sense of their relationship. Eli, I didn’t like so much either!
    I also would like to read more about Jesse. She is a strong character and I’d like to see what happens now that….well, you know:)
    Wonderful review.

Leave a Reply

