IndieWritersReview: Review of The Faerie Guardian Part I: Guardian (Creepy Hollow) by Rachel Morgan


rache morganHello guys! I have another great read I wanted to tell you about, The Faerie Guardian Part 1: Guardian (Creepy Hollow) by Rachel Morgan. Below I will share my thoughts, but first check out the details on this read:)

ABOUT RACHEL MORGAN

Rachel Morgan was born in South Africa and spent a large portion of her childhood living in a fantasy land of her own making. After completing a degree in genetics, she decided science wasn’t for her—after all, they didn’t approve of made-up facts. These days she spends much of her time immersed in fantasy land once more, writing fiction for young adults.

The Faerie Guardian Part I: Guardian (Creepy Hollow)

by Rachel Morgan

Faerie Guardian

Title: THE FAERIE GUARDIAN (Creepy Hollow, #1)
Author: Rachel Morgan (blog)
Genre: YA fantasy/paranormal
Length: 285 print pages
Available formats: Kindle, EPUB, PDF
Links
GoodreadsAmazonSmashwordsBarnes & NobleApple
Summary:Protecting humans from dangerous magical creatures is all in a day’s work for a faerie training to be a guardian. Seventeen-year-old Violet Fairdale knows this better than anyone—she’s about to become the best guardian the Guild has seen in years. That is, until a cute human boy who can somehow see through her faerie glamour follows her into the fae realm. Now she’s broken Guild Law, a crime that could lead to her expulsion.The last thing Vi wants to do is spend any more time with the boy who got her into this mess, but the Guild requires that she return Nate to his home and make him forget everything he’s discovered of the fae realm. Easy, right? Not when you factor in evil faeries, long-lost family members, and inconvenient feelings of the romantic kind. Vi is about to find herself tangled up in a dangerous plot—and it’ll take all her training to get out alive.[This short ebook forms Part I of the novel The Faerie Guardian.

My Thoughts

I am a huge fan of stories involving Faeries. I am unsure why I have not read as many as I like as of yet, but I truly enjoyed them, THE FAERIE GUARDIAN (Creepy Hollow, #1), has strengthen  the craving for these supernatural tales. The story is of Violet Fairdale, driven and hardworking, her entire mission   initially, is to be the best Guardian the Guild produces. Violet is well on her way until she meets a Human boy (Nate) that derails her from her plans, but brings so much more to her life, such as closure regarding her personal history and parents, and a reconciliation with a close friend. Throw in some danger and unexpectant love and you have Violet’s grand adventure.

As I mentioned previously, I enjoy Faerie lore, and I am thrilled when I find a good one:) Faerie Guardian grabs your attention right off the bat, with Violet having to battle a nasty creature right there in Nate’s room in the opening, there’s a touch of humor added, when Violet discovers that Nate can actually can see her, this throws her  a little, but of course this will not be the first time Nate keeps Violet off kilter. But a great start with action and that pace is continued. The story becomes very interesting to me when they enter Violet’s world. Ms. Morgan did an excellent job of describing the world that Violet lives in, the rich colorful detailed descriptions were an added bonus for me. I was also very  interested in how the author brought in the Faeries technology and made it all so real.
I  enjoyed the dynamics of the society that Ms. Morgan created, the Guild members, the hierarchy exhibited within, everything was explained and it created a rich experience for me. I felt I was able to lose myself withing the story, to actually escape to the world of  Violet’s home. I liked Violet as a character, I have a soft spot for those that seemed to be “loners”, mavericks…or that ride the edge. But Violet although she was very by the book as far as the Guild was concerned… depicted a very strong independent spirit which I admired.
This was a short book, But it was packed and did not cause the reader to leave off  with that “empty” feeling or ” I missed something” . I enjoyed the story immensely, and the book is perfect for  Teens and Adults.
I plan to follow this series:)
Check out the booktrailer!

 

Leave a Reply

