Cover Feature: AfterBurn and “The ulgly R Word” Guest Post from Author Tara Chevrestt


Hello everyone, I am helping with a cover feature for the newest from author Tara Chevrestt! Please see more below with a guest post from author Tara Chevrestt as well!

Afterburn 453x680

Blurb:

Crystal is an enlisted mechanic with a tragic past. Grant is an officer and a pilot with a broken heart. When faced with a difficult decision, will Crystal choose wisely or lose the best thing that ever happened to her?

The love between them burns hot, but their relationship won’t stay fueled if they can’t beat the obstacles in their way. Besides breaking the fraternization rules, Grant and Crystal have the difference of race between them…but can they prove to the rest of the world, and to each other, that love is color blind?

Afterburn is about overcoming one’s past, not judging others, learning to forgive, and what it’s like to be a woman in a “man’s world.”

Buy on Amazon

tammy chevretts

***

Tara Chevrestt is a deaf woman, former aviation mechanic, writer, and an editor. She is most passionate about planes, motorcycles, dogs, and above all, reading. That led to her love of writing. Between her writing and her editing, which allows her to be home with her little canine kids, she believes she has the greatest job in the world. She is very happily married.

Her theme is Strong is Sexy. She shares a website with her naughty pen name: http://tarachevrestt.weebly.com/index.html and they have a Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tara-Chevrestt-Sonia-Hightower/218383211513877.

Guest Post Tara Chevrestt

In my latest release, Afterburn, I didn’t just put an interracial couple in it having great sex. I added the issue. I added the hatred, the dirty looks, and yes, even one instance of name calling. Why? Because sadly, interracial couples today DO face this stuff. YES, it does exist, and the reason I wrote this book the way I did was so that people would look around them and become more aware of it. Because if you are aware of it, you can do something about it. And though you can’t change the opinion of the world, you can watch yourself and what you do and say. And it all starts in the HOME.

Racism is TAUGHT. You are not born having a lower opinion of another group of people. You are TAUGHT. Putting an end to racism must start in the home. What are you teaching your children? What were you taught?

The other day, a friend of mine and I had a discussion and she was shocked to find out that I didn’t even know racism existed until I was in the fourth grade. I was not taught to hate, I was not taught to look down on others. My father is very dark-skinned. He is Puerto Rican and comes from a mixture of African/French/Spanish blood. My mother is white. She’s so white, she gets sunburned just from walking to her car. (I’m exaggerating, but you get the drift.) Having come from a multi-cultural family, the blending of white, brown, black, of Irish, African, German, Puerto Rican, and even some Jamaican, I never realized this wasn’t the norm.

Then one day I had a rude wake-up call.

In fourth grade, I had a friend. We were on the swing set one day, waiting for our parents to come for a parent/teacher thing. The exact situation fails me, but my father and my mother both made an appearance. My friend–so I thought–said to me with a gasp, “Your dad is brown?

I stopped twirling my swing to stare at her. “Yea?”

“Your parents shouldn’t be married.” This was accompanied by a solemn shake of the head.

I scrunched up my face, confused. “Why not?”

I think the girl’s answer was something to the effect that that was what her parents had told her. So there you have it. Racism starts at home. It is taught. What are you doing about it?

4 thoughts on “Cover Feature: AfterBurn and “The ulgly R Word” Guest Post from Author Tara Chevrestt

Leave a Reply

