Review of Half Black Soul by HD Gordon


Hey Guys! I just wanted to share my review of this incredible read! I am steadily attempting to make it through my TBR, and I know the newest HD Gordon book is newly releasing(or soon to be:O) So, I really, really wanted to play catch and so, I read this book on every break and spot of free time I had!:O) So look below!

A HD Gordon

About this author
H. D. Gordon is the author of The Alexa Montgomery Saga. Blood Warrior, the first book of the Alexa series was her debut novel and has held a spot in the top 100 fantasy bestsellers for over a month. Half Black Soul is the second book in this series and H. D. plans to complete Alexa’s tales by the end of 2012. In June of 2012, Joe, a fantasy novel about a young clairvoyant, was released as well. H. D. is a lifelong reader and writer, a true lover of words. When she is not reading or writing she is raising her two daughters, playing a little guitar, and spending time with her family. She is twenty three years old and lives in the northeastern United States.
Half Black Soul
Blurb
In the past few weeks Alexa Montgomery has had her entire world flipped upside down. She’s gone from living a semi-normal teenage life to a life full of vampires and werewolves who all expect her to deliver them from the control of an evil dictator.Alexa is the last of her kind; a Sun Warrior, and now she has left the safety of Two Rivers to search for her mother, but she’s left her sister behind to do so, and Nelly is the one person that she was told that she must always protect. Kayden, a vampire who is Alexa’s other half, has followed her on her journey. But, secrets are about to come out, relationships will break and danger lies just up ahead. Will Alexa be able to get through all of this and make it out alive? And, will she be able to protect Nelly from danger when she is so far away
MY REVIEW
Okay, I want to say I read Blood Warrior about a year ago…I knew then that I was going to fangirl over this series and author. I have been waiting for the opportunity where  I could sit back and enjoy the next in the series. But I could never find the perfect moment where I could have my HD Gordon marathon. So I MADE the time! I swear this week has been just crazy hectic, but every free spot of time, every sliver of breathing room I obtained, I read this book…because I loved the first one and trust me the second one is even better. Briefly, the story follows Alexa, a young woman who recently found out that she was the last of her kind, a Sun Warrior; a destiny that she had been training for all her life. She did not know any of this except within the last few weeks, this is where Half Black Soul kicks off. Following Alexa, who is on the road traveling to rescue her mother. She and her sister Nelly,(who is the only of her kind, half Searcher and half Lamia) are residing in what appears to be a safehaven.
But Alexa believes all is not know at what is really happening at Two Rivers. But her first thought is to find her mother, who had been presumed dead, but Alexa had discovered some info that proves this might not be true. While heading out alone, Alexa is also attempting to get used to her other self. The one inside that makes her a lethal killing machine, she calls it monster. After killing a man who would have killed her, she had searched him and found that he had hurt many young women in the past. But after, terminating him, she was soon afraid that she was losing herself, that the monster who appeared to have no remorse was taking over.
During that time, Kayden, a vampire she met in Two Rivers, and found he was her other had, called a Libra, he brought balance to her when the monster seemed to get out of control. He arrived, and he joined her on the journey, so the book flashes back and forth between Alexa and Nelly, the younger sister back at Twin Oaks, who is desperately trying to find her sister. Soon the novel moves quickly with Alexa, coming to grips with the monster inside her, and also her deepening feelings for Kayden, and also accepting the realization that she needed him. Alexa was not used to needing anyone, she was the strong one. But she soon accepted that she was still the warrior, but that it was alright to accept Kayden’s help. The book also moves to Nelly story, where Alexa was the fighter the one always taking care of her, Nelly has had to depend on her own strengths, and fight in her way for herself. The two stories finally merge into a shocking ending!
I will say that HD Gordon is one of my favorite writers. She does not lead you into her story, she simply grabs you by the throat, and yanks you in with her clear, well written stories and feisty, strong heroines. I really enjoyed this book, I grew to love the comparison of what was happening to Nelly  vs. Alexa, and Ms. Gordon, wove the evolution of each girl’s growth so subtly and seamlessly, the reader is not aware until the very end, that this was deliberate! I enjoyed seeing Alexa open up and Nelly, shoot the girl found out who she really is and proved to herself that she can take care of herself! I believe this is a fantastic story for young girls to see strength, and courage even in the times of weakness. The story was laced with humor, I will admit I was slightly freaked out at the beginning, when the author described how Alexa was being taken over after killing the man who was intent on hurting her. It was whew! A little scary:) But afterwards when Alexa began accepting the monster, I enjoyed the back and forth communication she had. The story was action packed, Kayden was hot and I could not wait for the scenes with him in it, and I loved how he was there for Alexa, who had not had that much.,…and I enjoyed the humor and overall I felt this was  an awesome story!
So now  one of my current reads is  the Rise Book#3 by HD Gordon! …..I’ll let you know what I think soon:O)
Leave a Reply

