Review of Six Moon Summer (Seasons of the Moon, #1) by S. M. Reine


Hello everyone! I thought it was time to share my thoughts again on another great read! I have gotten a little too relaxed since being out for the holidays and not attached to my regular schedule. Plus I have been a little under the weather, so basically, other than the absolute necessities and arranged commitments, I had placed all aside and just played and rested:) Plus during this time, I had the chance to read, read, read! Yay!

But today is back to my normal daily, but I will try my hardest not to lose the ground I gained on my TBR list! My plan is to make it through this year:) But today I wanted to share a review of Six Moon Summer (Seasons of the Moon, #1) by S.M. Reine, which I have been eyeing for a year but have never had a chance to read, until now.

First I want to invite you to go and check out my radio interview from yesterday evening with Author Dawn Tevy, who interviewed me on her internet radio show, Angels&Warriors, love that name! This interview was part of my Kindred tour through VBTCafe tours!

A awesome header Kindred official cover- Gold Eyes copy amazon upload

It was a lot of fun, (only a few coughing fits:O) but I was slightly nervous at first, never being on the side of interviewees before, but it turned into a nice chat, ranging from Night School Vampire and Kindred to shoot Harry Potter and Twilight!:O) We discussed things paranormal to comic books! Yep, pretty cool, so if by chance you have a chance, go check it out:)

Angel&Warrios radio(Dawn Tevy) interview with Moi:) Interview with Angel&Warrior radio

Okay, now actually to the review!

s.m. reine author pic

About this author

Hi everyone! My name is Sara, and I write urban fantasy and paranormal novels as SM Reine. I collect swords, cat hair, and typewriters (which I do use for writing!). It’s a good day when those three things have nothing to do with each other.
If you would like to know the instant my next book is available, you should enlist in my Army of Evil! I send out free books a couple times a year and we have a WICKED cool secret handshake, but you’ll have to sign up to learn it. 😉 Check it out — http://eepurl.com/eWERY
A few fun facts about me: – The #1 song on the day I was born was “Never Gonna Give You Up” by Rick Astley, which means my life is a Rickroll. – I have three black cats and one black dog, but it’s not an obsession, I swear. – I am a full t…moreHi everyone! My name is Sara, and I write urban fantasy and paranormal novels as SM Reine. I collect swords, cat hair, and typewriters (which I do use for writing!). It’s a good day when those three things have nothing to do with each other.
If you would like to know the instant my next book is available, you should enlist in my Army of Evil! I send out free books a couple times a year and we have a WICKED cool secret handshake, but you’ll have to sign up to learn it. 😉 Check it out — http://eepurl.com/eWERY
A few fun facts about me: – The #1 song on the day I was born was “Never Gonna Give You Up” by Rick Astley, which means my life is a Rickroll. – I have three black cats and one black dog, but it’s not an obsession, I swear. – I am a full time writer these days, which means I will never wear a pair of heels to the office again. Viva la sweatpants!

Contact

website
twitter username

six moon summer

Rylie’s been bitten.

She’s changing.

And now she has three months to find a cure before becoming a werewolf… forever.

Rylie Gresham hates everything about summer camp: the food, the fresh air, the dumb activities, and the other girls in her cabin. But the worst part is probably being bitten by a werewolf. Being a teenager is hard enough, but now she’s craving raw flesh and struggles with uncontrollable anger. If she doesn’t figure out a way to stop the transformation, then at the end of summer, her life is worse than over. She’ll be a monster.

MY REVIEW

Really, sometimes when starting a review, I’m stumped. How do I express what was happening within me while reading a story, especially if it is a particular good one? So I start like many reviewers, I recap the entire summary, which in all honesty can be read in the blurb. But I believe many reviewers do this because, well if the blurb is not listed nearby, then it is necessary for others to know what the story is about, and plus it helps basically to “prime the pump” get those juices flowing. Because truly it can be a little difficult coming up with new ways to say, hey I FREAKIN LOVE THIS every time!

So, let me say, that I had seen S.M. Reine’s titles around the various social media hubs, well a lot. I was always taken in by her cool covers, and the varying span of subjects of her books . So I knew that her books would be some which I would partake whenever having a free moment. So with my fetish for lycanthrope stories(Shifters that transforms into wolves), I knew her Season of the Moon series would be my beginning point.

Six Moon Summer(Season of the Moon#1) tells the tale of  Rylie, a young and well seemingly awkward young girl who is basically deposited at Summer Camp by her father. Not much is given regarding Rylie’s backstory, other than she seems very close with her father, and that her parents were going through a divorce. So Rylie felt that this summer camp was an avenue for her parents to basically “get her out the way for the summer”, in order to deal with their crisis. Now Rylie, was a little resentful regarding this, because basically she was out of her element. Rylie was more of a museum, latte girl, versus the out doors type. Also, she suffered from asthma and overall camp made her miserable. So as the days progressed, Rylie was as miserable as she believed she would be, and her camp experience was made ten times worst, due to the fact her cabin mates, seemed to take a particular hatred towards her. They did everything from actually go through her things, and destroy them, to open ridicule. So one night. not being able to take anymore, Rylie leaves the camp and runs into the woods, she becomes a little disoriented and believes that she hears something. Next thing, events are whipping by, and in a somewhat  surreal way,it is shown that Rylie has been attacked by a wolf, and she blacks out. When Rylie awakens she is back in her bed in the cabin. So the story progresses, and changes begin happening within , which gives signs that something major was going on. Now before this, that first day, Rylie had spotted a boy, who is extremely hot and he is the one who we find out later was the one that came to Rylie’s aide. He is also the one, who begins to explain what is happening to Rylie. His name is Seth, and we do not learn until later that Seth has his own secrets. So Rylie changes, asthma gone, she begins to look different, become more agressive…mean girl bullies back off…but for all the good that is happening Rylie goes through pain ridden partial transformations on the next series of  full moons. Through Seth’s guidance she learns the history of Gray Mountain and that if she goes through the final and full transformation, on that last full moon she will remain a lycanthrope forever. But Rylie soon learns that the one who made her is now stalking her, and where before her decision appears simple to remain human, when Seth’s life is in danger she has to make a major decision.

I enjoyed this story immensely, although there are many stories of lycanthropes, it always astounds me, when I come across and author who has discovered a new way to make this subject fresh and unique, which Ms. Reine did. I was pulled into the characters, who was well-rounded and I was able to at first, be angry not only at the mean girls, but Rylie herself. During the beginning I would find myself shouting at the page, saying “Rylie don’t let her get away with that!” But I was not disappointed, Ms. Reine was  genius in depicting the flaws of Rylie and her weakness, then after her transformation, little by little showing how these “weakness” was overcome. I also enjoyed watching the blossoming of Rylie and Seth’s relationship. There was one point (which would be a spoiler) I became angry at Seth, but he quickly redeemed himself:) Ms. Reine created an action packed world, and believable characters that you either loved or hated. The scenes where Rylie was shifting was told in such detailed, shoot I felt as if I was shifting. The story was well-written, flowed and enveloped me enough, that before I was done with the second I went out and purchased the next two! I am now an avid fan of S.M. Reine. I am excited because I have SO many of her books to read! I plan to also check out her other lines as well. I fully suggest you become apart of  S.M. Reines world!

2 thoughts on “Review of Six Moon Summer (Seasons of the Moon, #1) by S. M. Reine

  1. Listening to the interview now, Michelle 🙂
    I’m reading Kelley Armstrong’s werewolf books at the time. Six Moon Summer sounds fun.
    Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

