IndieWritersReview’s Promo and Review of Revolution by Shelly Crane!


Hello Everyone! I am hosting as part of Supa Gurls Tours, Revolution By Shelly Crane which is the fourth and final novel in Ms. Crane’s Collide series!

So check out Revolution deets and a review below!

Blurb:

In the fourth and final installment, everything is on the line. Merrick’s life is in the balance and Lily is their only hope. Ellie and her new powers are miraculous, but also problematic; if she’s with the bunker family, they won’t be able to sense when the Lighters are there. There are many new members to the bunker and sparks will fly, and with the food shortage, they will all have plenty to deal with. Miguel is intrigued with Rylee, her past and her spunk. Ryan and Elli are barely scratching the surface of their relationship. Cain and Lillian will have to deal with Daniel, who has no qualms about showing his true feelings for her. And Sherry and Merrick…what will happen to this happenstance family who have worked so hard to come together? Can they all survive? Can they all withstand the new enemy that is right outside their door? Can they beat the Lighters, once and for all?
Author Bio: Shelly
is a YA author from a small town in Georgia and loves everything about the
south. She is wife to a fantastical husband and stay at home mom to two
boisterous and mischievous boys who keep her on her toes. They currently reside
in everywhere USA as they happily travel all over with her husband’s job. She
loves to spend time with her family, binge on candy corn, go out to eat at new
restaurants, buy paperbacks at little bookstores, site see in the new areas they
travel to, listen to music everywhere and also LOVES to read.
Her
own books happen by accident and she revels in the writing and imagination
process. She doesn’t go anywhere without her notepad for fear of an idea
creeping up and not being able to write it down immediately, even in the middle
of the night, where her best ideas are born.
REVIEW
I have wanted to read Ms. Crane’s books for a while now; I would see reviews and comments regarding how incredible her books; in fact my own daughter for her 14th birthday in June received a Kindle, and what did she want?(This was after previously reading one of Ms. Crane’s other novels…) Yes, you guessed it, she wanted all of Ms Cranes novels! So she did receive them and loved them! I would see her staying up late(it was Summer); wrapped around her Kindle reading; so yes, I was looking forward to the adventure myself.
Revolution is a great ending to an edge of the seat ride with the Collide series! Now, a reader can pick up Revolution and receive a recap briefly of the events that led to Sherry and Merrick’s current predicament, but I fully suggest going back and reading all of them!
Revolution(without giving away too many spoiler deets.) chronicles the events of Sherry, Merrick,Lilly; those who make up the “army of resistance” as Sherry, the main character, refers to her group; They are fighting against the Lighters, beings from another dimension who have the ability to basically “hijack” the body of a human who had recently died; The Taker is a leader; an almost unstoppable being, whose plan was to  take over Earth.
Keepers are those sent to protect “Specials” Humans with powers  great destinies; they are a threat to Lighters. Keepers and humans not affected “marked” by Lighters are fighting to stop the Dark Ones.
In Revolution, the stakes are raised as the rebels come against an even more formidable enemy, a Graphter; this is a being who has the Taker’s power, human intelligence and Lighter abilities. The rebels also have  new weapons for their enemies,;they now allow the “Specials” to fulfill their destinies and so the war commences. Interwoven in the adventure, Ms. Crane builds a world that chronicles the lives of these characters, that even in the mix of despair, they experience, love, passion and yes, there is loss and heartache; but through it all the group has a sense of family; it was this storytelling that adds a in-depth dimension to Revolution, that has this book standing out from others. It’s not just about the fighting, and the blowing up of things; but about the people, who against the odds stay intact and together.
I do not wish to spoil the ending, but it was fantastic how Ms. Crane  brought the Collide series to an end;
I will just say great and surprising things come in small packages:)
A must read!
EXCERPTS  FROM REVOLUTION

Excerpt One

He smiled. He had dimples. I’m sure he thought they were charming, but this jerkface was totally barking up the wrong tree. “Now why would I want to do a thing like that?”

“Because it’s the right thing to do.”

“You’ve got a point,” he said and stood, groaning. He stretched his back.
“Can you believe I used to be a linebacker? The good old days.” He held his hand out to me as I continued to look at him as if he were a mental patient. “I won’t bite.” He grinned.

“Aren’t linebackers the fat ones?” I asked as I let him help me stand.

“Nah. That’s the lineman. Linebackers are lean and mean.”

I sneered at him, “I can see that.”

“Hey, you didn’t have to run,” he argued with a smirk.

“Hey, you didn’t have to tackle me!” I shouted and checked to make sure I still had my necklace. “Why didn’t you just shoot me anyway?”           “I’m not in the habit of shooting beautiful women.”

Excerpt Two

A little bit later, I slipped away to have one final look at the Keeper who had it out for me from day one. She may not have needed or wanted closure, but I sure did. I needed to look at her human face and know that the Keeper inside was misguided and unhappy. That she wasn’t evil, just the most unhappy and angry that one could get to drive them over the line of sanity.

I had to believe she was insane and not just someone not only capable of such acts, but plotting and enjoying them.

I stopped in front of her locked door. Crap, I’d forgotten. So I wouldn’t be able to see her, but I could hear her. And she could hear me. I had one very important thing to say.

“You horrible witch.”

Ms. Crane’s Playlist when writing Revolution!(Just a few of the songs she listened to when writing:)

Collide (Howie Day)

Wide Awake (Katie Perry)

Roads Untraveled (Linkin Park)

2 thoughts on “IndieWritersReview’s Promo and Review of Revolution by Shelly Crane!

Leave a Reply

