Indiewritersreview Book Review: Chastity(An Eternal Beloved Novel) by R. Rodriguez


Hello Book fam:) Just wanted to share my review of Rose Rodriguez’s second book in the  Eternal Beloved Novel series….Chastity! Check it out:)

Chastity Ann Chadwick is a self proclaimed teenage femme fatale who lives in the small sailing town of Seaport Harbor. She’s a boy eater who uses pleasure to numb the pain of her unfortunate circumstances.  Little does she know, she’s on a certain path to self destruction when one of her romantic escapades gets out of hand. Life as she knows it will never be the same. Her only solace comes from an unanticipated liaison with the new mysterious guy in school. Her hopes are shattered when she realizes her newfound life is not what it seems. She will only find redemption by searching for her own truth.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Mother, Educator, Wife, and Author. My mind wanders with curiousity. My loyalties lie with a time when my life was “so called”, I was full of “Teen Spirit”, and the best love in the world came from a “Champion Lover”. I’m obsessed with the minds of men and women who have made a major difference for humanity. From Jesus to Jared Leto. 🙂 Words are my playground. In them lies my passion. I live in Puerto Rico with my husband and two kids. My works in progress are Chastity: An Eternal Beloved Novel and Renaissance Quest, a children’s book.

SUMMARY/REVIEW

Chastity (An Eternal Beloved Review)
By Rose Rodriguez
Summary:
Chastity Ann Chadwick is a self proclaimed teenage femme fatale who lives in the small sailing town of Seaport Harbor. She’s a boy eater who uses pleasure to numb the pain of her unfortunate circumstances. Little does she know she’s on a certain path to self destruction when one of her romantic escapades gets out of hand. Life as she knows it will never be the same. Her only solace comes from an unanticipated liaison with the new mysterious guy in school. Her hopes are shattered when she realizes her newfound life is not what it seems. She will only find redemption by searching for her own truth

MY REVIEW

Chastity was a very wounded and on some levels disturbed young woman; she was verbally and emotionally abused by her grandmother Amelia, and emotionally neglected by her own mother. Chastity’s father was a married man who lived next door to Chastity, her mother, and grandmother. He never acknowledged that Chastity was his daughter, preferring to maintain the perfect family façade with his wife, son and daughter; while living right next door! But Chastity was the only out of the three siblings who looked the splitting image of her father, and so it was common knowledge who her father actually was; but with her father being the Mayor, all was kept hush hush; Life was difficult for Chastity, with the Mayor giving materials things but not the acknowledgement and love that Chastity needed, especially after her mother committed suicide, and her Grandmother Amelia blamed Chastity for her daughter’s death. Chastity decided to bottle up all her pain, and become extremely self destructive, she played the role of being a femme fatale with the boys in her school; she was the self proclaimed queen of her high school, but this backfired on her and led to the fatal and almost surreal events afterwards.
I do not wish to go into too much detail, which would spoil the read. But I will say that I truly enjoyed this second installment of the Eternal Beloved series. This was truly a fresh and unique take on the teen paranormal, romance, and I have found that I have become somewhat addicted to Ms. Rodriguez’s novels! I loved the way the description is lyrical, very poetic. I truly enjoy the author’s writing style; it has a haunting quality that fits the story line.
I was a little torn with whether I felt any loyalty towards the main character, due to how she was somewhat ruthless in her desire to be queen of the social scene in her high school. But as the story went on, I was able to see the deeper levels of this character’s personality; and finally found the cord that bound me as a reader to Chastity and I ended up rooting for her, Jared and their love.
This is a story of betrayal, passion, forgiveness, self indulgence, jealousy, love and redemption…yep, it’s all in there! I will definitely follow this series!

Leave a Reply

