Welcome author Shane Smith of The Lesser Evil (Graphic Novel)


Happy Wednesday Everyone! It is that halfway point where the light  of the impending weekend is beginning to shine…not that we are looking forward to it around here…we’re having too much fun everyday!:) Today I have a guest post from  the awesome Shane Smith who wrote the , The Lesser Evil(graphic novel)… Mr. Smith is on tour with Orangberry Book Tours

   

           www.orangeberrybooktours.com

Today Mr. Smith will  speak on the importance of following your dreams… and he also gave his own Mind Track…the songs that he rocks too while creating:) So let’s get started!

 Author Shane Smith

Shane W. Smith was born in 1985. For quite a long time after this, nothing much happened. 
Then he got used to writing about himself in third person for bios like this.
 Before The Lesser Evil was picked up by Zeta Comics last year, his proudest professional moment was getting a comic book entitled Academaesthetics published in an A-ranked academic journal. 
His family makes up the remainder of his proud moments.
Shane has a Bachelor Degree in Creative Writing, with First Class Honours, and believes that analysing stories to find out what makes them work is the best possible use of his brain power. 
The Lesser Evil is, hopefully, the first step in Shane's prolific and profound creative career. Find out more about Shane's books at his website http://shanewsmith.com  
Contact
Website: http://shanewsmith.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Shane-W-Smith/246284628744146
Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Shane_W_Smith 
The Lesser Evil book trailer: 

Check out Author Shane Smith's MindTrack!

 MINDTRACK!
Check it out!indiewritersreview-trailer-stop

GUEST POST

Shane Smith

Dreams and the folks who dream them

Dear mum and dad,

By the time you read this, I will be gone. I want you to know that it’s nothing you’ve done. This is just something I had to do, for me.

I know, dad, you wanted me to follow you into the tubinj industry. You’ve done your best to get me interested in the work you do, and I do appreciate the interviews you’ve lined up for me after my Test. I think you’ve noticed, though, that I haven’t leapt at the chance the way you hoped I would, and I think you know why.

I know you think I’m wasting my life, enlisting in the Senate’s navy. But Danny Hopkins enlisted three years ago, and he’s already a bridge officer. In a few years, he’ll probably command his own ship.

And that’s what I want. It’s what I’ve always wanted. I want to be out there among the stars, seeing the galaxy, and helping the Senate to protect and improve the lives of its people.

I hope I haven’t disappointed you. It’s the last thing I ever wanted to do. Just please be happy that I’m working towards my dream…

-Fragment of a letter written by Ross Tillman to his parents;

The Lesser Evil, Book 1

At the risk of influencing any interpretation of my graphic novel, The Lesser Evil, I have come to recognise that there is a lot of me in Ross Tillman. In the final weeks of scholarship, he finds himself dreaming of a life he knows he can never have. Because he can’t stand up to his parents; because he can’t even get through to them; because he worries about disappointing them; because he hasn’t got the personal strength to find this life on his own, he is about to follow his father into a local administrative role that he dreads.

Like me, Ross knows what it’s like to feel like life is an on-rails arrangement. He knows how it feels to see a comfortable but unfulfilling future bearing down upon him. He knows the quiet anxiety of having a dream that seems incompatible with that future. And he knows all too well the lost desperation of someone who lacks the inner fortitude to make the necessary changes.

I’ve come to learn a lot about myself as a writer and as a person through Ross. But I don’t need him to tell me that I have an unrealistic dream. The proportion of creative folk who actually make a living from their endeavours is low. Very low.

Although the people around me were no doubt attempting to protect me when they said, “You’ll have to get a real job,” sometimes all I heard was an implicit suggestion that it might be smarter to direct my energies elsewhere, because I really had no hope. I felt the inertia of my familial heritage pulling me into a lifelong public service career… when what I really wanted was to be out there among the stars, so to speak.

My main point here is that there are so many forces pulling and pushing the dreamer around, attempting to divert him/her from the narrow path he/she has chosen, that sometimes it seems impossible to keep focussed on the original goal.

In The Lesser Evil, for example, Ross Tillman has a choice between living his personal dream, and taking responsibility for a situation in which he is entwined. Without wanting to spoil anything, Ross makes the same decision that I made when I decided to put my family above my writing.

It’s not always fun to be sitting in an office, especially when you have a moment to think about the work you’d much rather be doing… or even worse, when you can’t shake the feeling that perhaps, perhaps, your last opportunity went by a long time ago.

But there’s always a way to compromise (in my case, I do all my writing after my wife and children have gone to bed for the night). Sacrifice is a relative thing, and priorities can always be shifted around – even a little is often enough.

And when you take a moment to think about the direction of your life, really think about it, you come to realise two things:

  1. It’s not too late. You just have to find the compromise.
  2. You wouldn’t change anything. Because that would change everything
2 thoughts on “Welcome author Shane Smith of The Lesser Evil (Graphic Novel)

Leave a Reply

