Welcome to Author Bridget Straub!


Hello Family! I just wanted to welcome today author Bridget Straub of two great books “Searching For My Wand” and “On A Hot August Afternoon”

SEARCHING FOR MY WAND  

 BY  AUTHOR BRIDGET STRAUB

Ms. Straub will be our Guest Poster today, she will speak about writing and life as an Indie Author…the joys and the challenges:) Ms. Straub… by giving the details of what she did to lay down a foundation for her books…mistakes and successes, gives valuable information and inspiration for those already in the independent field of publishing and those who are thinking about joining the ranks! Ms. Straub is an inspiration and funny to boot! Sit back and see what she has to say!

GUEST POST

Don’t tell anyone, but I’m a little overwhelmed by all that is involved in self-publishing. I knew a little more than a year ago, that the time had come to share my writing with more than just my family and friends. I had just completed a showcase production of “Room to Grow”, the musical I wrote with my friend Laura Hall (best known as the piano player on “Whose Line Is It, Anyway?”) and it had been well received. I had been writing like crazy in the past few months and had completed three novels. The time had come to do something with them.

The first thing I did was start a blog, in the hope that some agent or publisher would stumble upon it and miraculously offer me some great deal. Yeah, what can I say, I knew how unlikely it was, so no hard feelings. The real purpose was to see if a mass audience would be interested in the things I have to say and to gain name recognition. At the same time, I began educating myself on social media and all things publishing related, and about six months in, I began to seriously consider self-publishing as a viable option.

The blog was doing moderately well and the more I tried to decipher how to write the perfect query letter, the more it began to feel like a waste of time. There seemed to be a lot of rules as to what you could and could not say. What your tone should be, how much experience you had, etc. I just wanted to be judged on my novel, not on my kissing up abilities, and I’m sorry, but having to tell an agent what my favorite books are that they had struck deals for, and why I’d chosen to query them, had very little to do with the here and now. In the end, I sent exactly two and I never heard from either one of them.

Now don’t get me wrong, I know that no news is not always good news. However (knock wood), I have only received positive reviews of my writing both on the blog and in regards to my books. I’ve been very lucky, I know. So in December of 2011, I released my first novel, “Searching For My Wand”. Has it sold a million copies? Sadly, no. Am I discouraged? I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t, however, I have five 5 star reviews up on amazon, and no, they are not all from friends and family.

I have tweeted and Facebooked as much as I can without crossing the line into a spammer. I have done interviews and guest posts. I have also read that it takes more than one book to gain a following. Well, that’s easy enough to remedy, and I plan on releasing my second novel “On A Hot August Afternoon” in the next few weeks. The overwhelming part of this comes in not knowing what to do next in order to expand my audience further. I fear it entails hiring a publicist.

This is an issue because money is tight, and from what I have researched so far, publicists don’t come cheap. Because I have worked as hard as I have to get my name out, I also know that it’s fair to charge a substantial amount because it is not an easy job. I am encouraged that I have at least laid the ground work and that traffic on my blog has more than doubled in the past several weeks. Who knows, maybe all I need to do is be patient. In the meantime, enjoy these blurbs and if you are interested in reading more, by all means, buy the books!

“Searching For My Wand”

Glenda was named (incorrectly) after Glinda the Good Witch and therefore, subconsciously, has spent her entire life trying to live up to the reputation of a fictional character. To the outside world, she’s succeeding. She appears to have it all, the perfect husband, two beautiful little girls, a nice house, good friends and a dog named Bono! To Glenda, it’s not all that it’s all cracked up to be. Life throws her some unexpected curves and her world begins to unravel.

Through laughter and tears, Glenda tells the story of how this good witch is searching for her wand and is coming out stronger than ever.

“On A Hot August Afternoon”

Stacey is an artist with a rock star husband Pete, whom she loves with all of her heart. With two young children, and the financial security to pursue her career only when it suits her to do so, she and the kids are about to join her in-laws at the family compound in beautiful South Lake Tahoe for her sister in-law’s wedding. There, she’ll be reunited with Pete, who has been out on the road with his band for several weeks. However, she is blindsided when she goes to her mailbox and discovers an envelope of photographs, explicit photographs of her husband and another woman. Suddenly, she’s left questioning everything about the life she is living.

    When she confides in her younger sister, Stephanie, that she thinks her husband has been unfaithful, Stephanie, who has married into the same family, can’t believe it. As this tangled web unweaves, both sides of the family get involved, revealing a history of ups and downs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMi8eiatB8s&list=FLivtLXiho_nvceGnFkXlh2Q&feature=mh_lolz

http://www.amazon.com/s/ ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=searchin g+for+my+wand+by+bridget+straub&x=14&y=21

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/ s/searching-for-my-wand-by-bridget-straub?keyword=searching+for +my+wand+by+bridget+straub&store=allproducts

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Author Bridget Straub!

Leave a Reply

