IndieWritersReview’s Spotlight! Merely This And Nothing More: Poe Goes Punk! Charity Anthology (Writerpunk Press) Release Day May 31st!


Happy Wednesday All! I’m so excited that today IndieWritersReview is participating as a host for Writerpunk Press‘s upcoming release Merely This And Nothing More: Poe Goes Punk!

a fun plus 110

Merely This and Nothing More: Poe Goes Punk

Release Date: May 31, 2016

Available from: Writerpunk Press

Formats: Kindle and Paperback (348 Pages)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1530999189

ISBN-13: 978-1530999187

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30098031-merely-this-and-nothing-more

_________________________________________

 

BLURB

A clockwork raven. Two sets of irresistible teeth. A house brought to life by nanobots. A heart that won’t stop beating. All this and much more in the Writerpunk Press version of the beloved suspense stories by Edgar Allan Poe. We’ve pulled out all the stops this time around to bring you the very best punked versions of classic Poe tales, complete with shiny gears and tiny bots! In addition to the more familiar Cyberpunk and Steampunk, we’ve added Bio, Deco, and Dieselpunk genres to the mix. The resulting volume is a dynamic take on horror of which the Master of Macabre himself would be proud. Profits are to be donated to PAWS Lynnwood, an animal shelter and wildlife rescue located in the Pacific Northwest.

LINKS

WEBSITE: http://www.punkwriters.com

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/groups/745778822154599/

TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/punkwriters

ANTHOLOGIES:

Sound & Fury: Shakespeare Goes Punk

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sound-Fury-Shakespeare-Goes-Punk/dp/0692386130

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25132487-sound-fury

Once More Unto the Breach: Shakespeare Goes Punk 2

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Once-More-Unto-Breach-Shakespeare/dp/0692560491/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28451788-once-more-unto-the-breach

 

_______________________________________________

a fun plus 120

EXCERPTS

 

“Things of the Future” ~ AR DeClerck

A futurepunk story inspired by “Mellonta Tauta”

 

April 1, 2058

The Grand Balloon Skylark

Below us is the vast ocean that never ceases. I write to you from my perch high upon the pinnacle of our great transport. I find myself wondering why we cannot go faster, as other balloons pass us by at more than one hundred and fifty miles per hour and we move at less than one hundred. The captain says that we must conserve, but I find that what was once the peace of the blue waters below is nothing more than a sinister and lonely wasteland to me now.

I cannot say that I am not intrigued by the idea that nothing exists below us. I have seen ships on the waters, their propellers churning as they move. I might have worried that they will someday run out of fuel, but the captain assures me they, too, have perfected the drying and burning of the great gutta pucka fungi that provides fuel for us all. One bit of the pungent plant that grows upon the top of the sea can keep us running for days. The boats are far more crowded than our own vessel, the throngs of poor and unwashed below me eliciting my pity and some admitted relief that they are below and I am up here.

The question we all ask ourselves remains unsaid. Will we find land again? We have traveled much, from the only bit of soil that remained untouched after the great cataclysm, searching for some bit of terra firma that may exist across this ocean. None of us recall the days of walking upon the land, and I myself was born upon a ship much like the one I sit upon now. What would it be like to feel real dyrt between my toes, as my grandfather used to expound upon to us on hot nights. Even when we started out, the captain tells me, there was only that small island of sand remaining upon which to build our vessels for this trek.

How much time has passed since humanity left that sand dune in ships and boats? There is no real guess. Days grow longer now, and the dual orbs in the sky keep it light for twenty seven of our hours. The captain has a theory about this, as well, and he says that the rotation of the planet has slowed thanks to the appearance of the Alpha Lyrae in the sky. It is why the days stretch on to forever, and we age much more slowly than our parents and grandparents. Wiggins, the captain, has even suggested that we are as near to immortal now as our species will ever be.

 

~ ~ ~

 

“Red Sky at Morning” ~ Jeffrey Cook

A steampunk story inspired by “The Masque of the Red Death”

 

Four months passed without a sign of trouble. The noblemen and women, hidden behind their masks, gloves, and fancy clothes, danced, and as the ship moved, and the sun with it, the lights danced with them—red in the earliest or latest parts of the day, depending on the ship’s facing, and then each of the other shades of the stained glass, sometimes only blue, or only green, or one of the others when the sun hit just so, and sometimes the lights danced and mixed amidst the revelers, moving as if in time to the music.

The call went up one morning, “Red sky by morning.” The crew begged the Prince to go below decks, to send the dancers and musicians and all of the crowd to quarters, that they might take down the glass, extend the sails, and try to run as far and as fast as the engines might take them.

The Prince would hear none of it, chastising the frightened sailors, insisting that he trusted in their skill, and the sheer size of his airship, and the good fortune they’d enjoyed so far. Instead, as he’d done before when the news seemed worst, the Prince tried to dispel it with the greatest of his parties yet. The entertainers were all called at once, that no part of the deck would be without spectacle, and he called all of his friends to come and enjoy the day. He had the cooks and servers prepare a feast, holding nothing back. Wine flowed freely, and the Prince looked upon all he had wrought, and was pleased.

A shift in the wind moved the ship about, and the blues and whites of the reflections abruptly shifted. The sun struck the uneven red pane, disappearing where the streaks of coal dust marked it, and uneven shadows played amidst the dozen shades of red that danced over the revelers as midday neared.

A singular figure that none could recall joined the dance. The figure was slender, wearing trousers, polished shoes, and a shirt of black. The jacket and top hat, however, were of the richest red crushed velvet, soft to the touch. The mask was the simplest of all the revelers, plain white porcelain, but wherever the figure moved, the light through the red window always caught it, dancing red lights shifting across the reflective surface.

 

~ ~ ~

 

“The Clockwork Raven” ~ Carol Gyzander

A clockpunk story inspired by the poem “The Raven”

 

My device sat waiting on the work table in front of me. I removed the cloth cover and looked at it with a critical eye. Peering back at me were two fixed, black, beady eyes and a strong, almost menacing beak. Trailing away from the head, dark feathers lay smoothly across the back and flowed out to the wings. The feet curved into sharp talons.

I turned it over and opened the plate on the underside. I smiled at the array of miniature gears and pulleys inside—this was one of my masterworks. I inserted the key into the first of three winding points. Turning the key in each one, carefully, until I met resistance, I listened to the ratcheting sound of the clockwork mechanism as it wound. When I removed the key the final time, closing the plate and turning it upright, I could hear a faint tapping sound.

The bird stretched its wings and looked at me with those black, beady eyes. Considering the key still in my hand, I shook my head. Yes, it was working for now, but one winding would not last the time required. I opened my own volume of ancient lore, turning the pages to find what I sought. Speaking low and clear, I read the words and performed the gestures recorded so long ago, watching the Raven as I worked.

The eyes came alight with an internal fire. Its head tilted to one side as it peered at me, and it flapped its wings once, again. I concentrated for a moment and inclined my own head, searching inside my mind, and saw through the Raven’s eyes: an image of myself looking back. As I moved around the room, the bird’s eyes followed me, and the image changed.

“It’s working,” I said, and heard the words in my mind as the Raven heard them.

A feeling of faintness came over me under the Raven’s steady gaze. My shoulders sagged. I braced myself against the work table and fought off a sudden wave of fatigue; held a hand to my brow, blocking its view. I was not the one from whom it should draw its energy. Not the one who must be drained.

Who needed to pay for what he had done.

Donning my coat, I tucked the clockwork Raven under my arm and headed back out into the night. This would do—only this and nothing more.

__________________________________________________

a fun plus 118

ABOUT WRITERPUNK PRESS

We are a small, somewhat anarchic writers’ collective–a community of authors, illustrators, bloggers, poets, artists, graphic designers, and readers from all walks of life who are fans of cyberpunk, steampunk, dieselpunk, and associated genres.

Sound and Fury: Shakespeare Goes Punk, our first anthology of stories based on the Bard’s work, was published in March 2015. The second anthology, Once More Unto The Breach: Shakespeare Goes Punk 2, was released in December 2015. We have taken the plays that audiences have enjoyed for hundreds of years and reinvented them as cyberpunk, dieselpunk, Teslapunk, and steampunk tales. Featuring comedies and tragedies as well as a wide variety of punk genres, these collections have something for everyone. The anthologies have even been added to high school and college curriculums.

Our third collection, Merely This and Nothing More: Poe Goes Punk, will be published on May 31st.  In this anthology, we have punked classic tales penned by the Master of the Macabre. In addition to the more familiar cyberpunk and steampunk, we’ve added bio, deco, and dieselpunk genres to the mix.  As with all Writerpunk Press publications, a spirit of subversive fun is strongly encouraged.

 

FAQ

Q: How did Writerpunk Press come to be?

A: Once upon a time there were a bunch of writers who really liked steampunk. And dieselpunk. And clockpunk. And there were a bunch of other writers who liked other kinds of punk, and also making up new punk genres. And we all came together on Facebook. The End.

Actually, that wasn’t the end. Now we’re hanging out, publishing anthologies. And living happily ever after! (For real, this time.)

Q: How does one submit to the anthologies?

A: Step 1. Join the Writerpunk Facebook group. Step 2. Write a story that fits one of our submission calls. Step 3. Submit your story. (These steps may be completed in any order your little punk heart desires—but we suggest saving Step 3 for last.)

Q: Does everyone who submits get accepted?

A: No. While we do our best to nurture new authors with lots of encouragement, feedback, and cookies and tea (okay, maybe not ACTUAL cookies…or are they?), we do have a limit on the amount of words we can physically publish. The best course of action is to polish, polish, polish your story before submission, and to take a look at our upcoming anthologies to ensure your work is an actual fit for an upcoming project.

Q: What is the process of putting together an anthology? How does it work without one person in charge?

A: Imagine a circus. Now imagine a steam engine. Now imagine a monkey. Now imagine an underwater algae zoo.

Just kidding, that has nothing to do with it. Just wanted to see how many things you can imagine.

Seriously, these projects work because we have a group of professional, dedicated people who are willing to donate their creativity and time to making the books happen. While we may disagree throughout the creative process—and believe me, a punk collective finds plenty to toss around—we do so in a courteous, open-minded way. And also, we set deadlines and stick to them.

“I have been a member of many, many writers’ groups, and every single one of them has at one time or another decided they wanted to do an anthology,” said Rachel A. Brune, contributing writer. “This is the first group that has actually done so, and not just once, but on an ongoing basis. One of the reasons for that is, for me, the caliber of professional creatives we get to work with here.”

“It’s a fabulous cooperative community,” added Editor Carol Gyzander. “There is a small steering committee, but we basically look around, and see what needs to be going on—then we either do it, or bring it up for folks to consider doing it themselves. We do have a few folks who have specific jobs. For example, I oversee the editing and get to work with the writers when our volunteer editors have suggestions, and I have a monstrous spreadsheet to keep track of which stage every story is in. However, I think the dedication of all these volunteers is what makes our volumes so much better than what used to pass as standard self-published fare. We’re a group of talented professionals who function well together as volunteers, and together we produce an extremely high quality anthology.”

Q: What is the schedule for future anthologies?

A: Poe Goes Punk will be available 31 May 2016.

Our next project is an anthology based on punk versions of the classics, an “English Class Goes Punk.” Submissions are due 15 December 2016, and it will be released in spring 2017. For more information, check out the Writerpunk Facebook group.

Q: How do I add one of your anthologies to my class curriculum?

A: We’d love to be part of your curriculum! You can order copies via Amazon.

Q: How do I get one of your authors to visit my classroom/attend my Convention?

A: If you would like to contact one or more of the authors for a physical (if in reasonable traveling distance) or virtual classroom visit or Con panel, email us at punkwriters@gmail.com.

Q: What’s the story with the charity aspect of the anthologies?

A: Our main focus was to get these great stories out there, not to worry over taxes and accounting and such. The group felt strongly about supporting such a wonderful charity: PAWS Animal Rescue and Shelter, a no-kill shelter located in Washington State.

 

IndieWritersReview’s Spotlight! The Snake Den (The Shadow and Ink Series, Book Two) by Nikki Rae( COVER REVEAL!)


Happy Sunday All! I’m so excited that today IndieWritersReview is participating as a host for The Snake Den (The Shadow & Ink Series, Book Two) by Author Nikki Rae cover reveal!

 

The Snake Den (The Shadow & Ink Series, Book Two)

a fun plus 102

Book Two Synopsis:
The Snake Den (The Shadow & Ink Series, Book Two)
The box has opened a door to the dark place where the voice Corbin hears dwells. Not only that, but she’s brought it forth in human form, into her world, into the light. But others have been alerted to her existence, and Six is only the beginning of the imaginary becoming real. Torn between her love for Six and wanting a normal life, Corbin must decide if she should live in the light or hide in the dark.
 ___________________________
a fun plus 105
Please Join the Release Day fun!
 ____________________________
About The Author
a fun plus 102
Bio: Nikki Rae is an independent author who lives in New Jersey. She explores human nature through fiction, concentrating on making the imaginary as real as possible. Her genres of choice are mainly dark, scary, romantic tales, but she’ll try anything once. When she is not writing, reading, or thinking, you can find her spending time with animals, drawing in a quiet corner, or studying people. Closely.

IndieWritersReview Spotlights Demon Hunting with a Dixie Deb (Demon Hunting Series) Book Four Lexi George! ($50 Amazon GiftCard Giveaway) Bewitching Book Tours


Happy Wednesday All! I’m so excited that today IndieWritersReview is hosting Demon Hunting with a Dixie Deb (Demon Hunting Series) Book Four by Author Lexi George virtual tour with Bewitching Book Tours!

a fun plus 115

Demon Hunting with a Dixie Deb

Demon Hunting Series

Book Four

Lexi George

Genre: paranormal romance

Publisher: Kensington

Date of Publication: May 24, 2016

ISBN: 9781601831774

ASIN:  B014NWMH0G

Number of pages: 452

Word Count:  105,000

Cover Artist: Lyrical Press

 

a fun plus 102

Book Description:

Deep South legends. Deep fried curses. Deep dish revenge . . .

 

This Debutante Is Having A Ball!

 

Way down south in the land of cotton, one belle’s plans are soon forgotten–when Sassy Peterson drives her Maserati off the road to avoid a deer and lands smack-dab in the proverbial creek without a paddle. The Alabama heiress should have known something weird was going on when she saw the deer’s ginormous fangs. Hello, Predator Bambi!

But nothing can prepare her for the leather-clad, muscle-bound, golden-eyed sex god who rescues her. Who wears leather in May? That’s just the first of many questions Sassy has when her savior reveals he’s a demon hunter named Grim. Also: Why would a troop of fairies want to give her magical powers and rainbow hair? Why would a style-challenged beast called the Howling Hag want to hunt her down?

Most importantly, what’s a nice debutante like Sassy doing in a place like this anyway? Besides feeling Grim . . .

 

Amazon      iTunes    Google    Kobo    Nook

 

 

1d72a-excerpt

 

 

Excerpt:

 

“Sugar,” Sassy murmured. She laid her head on Grim’s shoulder. “Fairies.”

With a drowsy sigh, she relaxed against him and went to sleep.

Grim stilled. A surge of lust hit him, hard and fierce. Sassy smelled delightful, a dizzying combination of summer roses and female. Curling tendrils of her hair lifted to caress his jaw, like flowers reaching for the sun.

I am her sword and shield. The vow rose unbidden in his mind. Here and now I vow to protect her, from anyone or anything that threatens her.

An admirable sentiment, I am sure, the Provider said, but hardly necessary. She leaves tomorrow, and you return to the hunt. That is good, is it not?

Yes, of course.

Then why the hollow ache in his chest?

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

a fun plus 102

Lexi George writes snarky, Southern-fried paranormal romance for Kensington. Her debut novel, Demon Hunting in Dixie, was released in 2011, and a novella and two more demon hunter books followed. Demon Hunting in a Dive Bar, the third book in the series, was nominated for a RITA in 2014. The fourth book, Demon Hunting with a Dixie Deb, is due to be released May 24, 2016. Lexi enjoys reading and writing romance, but her first love is fantasy. A Meddle of Wizards is the story of Raine Stewart, a sheltered, sickly young woman who comes into her own when she’s transported to a magical world, discovers her burgeoning powers as an adept, and faces the evil wizard who killed her parents. Lexi’s day job as an appellate attorney requires reading transcripts filled with murder, mayhem, and worse. Perhaps this is why she enjoys stories filled with humor, action, adventure, and magical creatures. She has a violent aversion to sad movies, having been scarred by Old Yeller at the age of nine. She drinks tea, not coffee, and has never seen The Exorcist, because she is a world-class chicken. She is the third of four children, with all the attendant neuroses.

Website: www.lexigeorge.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lexigeorge12

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Lexi-George-145551795493851/

2c560-giveaway

Tour giveaway

$50 Amazon gift card

#Click http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ba112ffc1344

 

 

 

 

IndieWritersReview’s Spotlight! Tourmentin:Rise of the House of Sepion Re-Release Day! (CHBB publishing) Rafflecopter Giveaway Event!


Hey guys just wanted to share that Tourmentin: Rise of the House of Sepion novella is re-releasing today  from Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing! Woot so excited and hope you’ll check it out! It’s set in my most favorite locale New Orleans, so my hope is when reading the story, I can transfer even a little of the beauty and mystery I find in the city every time I visit!—Au revoir!

 

Michelle

 

Tourmentin
(The House of Sepion Series Book One)
Love is as strong as death while jealousy is cruel as the grave.
http://smarturl.it/Tourmentin
‪#‎New‬ ‪#‎ReRelease‬ ‪#‎Gothic‬ ‪#‎Romance‬ ‪#‎Kindleunlimited‬

 Official Tourmentin cover

_________________________________________________________

2c560-giveaway

‪#‎RafflecopterGiveaway‬ Celebrating Tourmentin’s release, I’m kicking off a Rafflecopter giveaway event! ‪#‎April27ththruMay27th‬.

Just click and enter for your chance at the Grand Prize Pack!
Winner will be chosen randomly by rafflecopter and this giveaway is not in anyway associated with Face Book.

The winner will be announced on Monday May 30th!

Grand Prize: TOURMENTIN PRIZE PACK: E-Copy of Tourmentin: Rise of The House of Sepion Novella, 1 (Taste of New Orleans (Cafe Du Monde Coffee And Beignet Mix Set – 1 Can Of Cafe Du Monde Coffee.) 1 $5 Amazon Gift Card

‪#‎Clicktoenterhere‬: http://gvwy.io/nhefb7f

___________________________________________________________________

The xx – Angels is on Tourmentin’s playlist. Thought it a great backdrop to the twisted tale!  lol ‪#‎epiclove‬ ‪#‎epicdespair‬ ‪#‎hoperenewed‬

IndieWritersReview’s Music Monday Spotlight! Alternative Folk Rock music group Thao and the Get Down Stay Down!


Happy Music Monday! Today I’m excited to throw the spotlight on alternative folk rock music group Thao & the Get Down Stay Down!

 

a fun plus 111

Website

Thao & the Get Down Stay Down is a San Francisco, California-based (formerly Falls Church, Virginia) alternative folk rockmusic group. It consists of Thao Nguyen (vocals, guitar) and Adam Thompson (vocals, bass guitar, keyboards). Frank Stewart (lead guitar, production) and Willis Thompson (drums) are former members of the band. — Wikipedia

MUSIC

a fun plus 108

IndieWritersReview Welcomes Author Jeanette Watts – Wealth and Privilege and Brains and Beauty – Virtual Book Tour! Excerpt Feature (RAVBT Tour)


Happy Wednesday All! Today I’m very excited that IndieWritersReview is hosting Author Jeanette Watts’Book One (Wealth & Privilege) and  Book Two (Brains & Beauty) as part of the author’s Reading Addiction Virtual book tour!

 

 a fun plus 113

Jeanette Watts is a dance instructor and performer of many different kinds of dance, a costumer, a former television producer, and a big softie who can’t learn to say no when people need help with their festivals. It makes it really difficult for her to get time to write.

 

Website: www.JeanetteWatts.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jeanette.watts.94

Twitter: @JeanetteAWatts     

Purchase Links

Amazon: Wealth and Privilege: https://www.createspace.com/4352661

Brains and Beauty: https://www.createspace.com/5865403

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wealth-and-privilege-jeanette-watts/1115581019?ean=9781490934518

 

_____________________________________________________________

a fun plus 114
Book One (Wealth & Privilege)

Boy meets girl, falls in love at first sight. Oops, she’s already married. Bad planning. She becomes a friend and a muse, helps him find his voice. He knows that no one gets to capture their own muse, but he can dream, can’t he…?

1d72a-excerpt

A soft rumble of thunder sounded in the distance, and they both groaned.

“Just what we need,” Thomas observed.  “More water.”

“Well, I suppose thunder doesn’t necessarily mean more rain,” Regina answered hopefully.

It was an odd sort of thunder.  It took Thomas a moment to realize why.  Then it occurred to him that it was continuous, and getting louder, instead of fading away.

A strange black fog began to drift through the air.  They froze, staring at each other, listening.  The rumble increased like – what?  It was a cross between an oncoming train, and – and – Thomas imagined this must be what an avalanche must sound like.

Then he knew what was going on.  The South Fork dam had broken!

Before he could share his insight, Regina’s face changed.  She stared up Clinton Street, mouth open, eyes wide with horror.  She pointed, incoherent noises issuing from her throat.  Thomas turned, and nearly fell off their precarious little raft.

The source of the crashing rumble was a towering wall of debris moving toward them.  A misty black cloud hung in the air, occasionally obscuring the horrific sight.  A writhing mass of tree roots, rooftops, planks, railroad pieces and other metal parts tumbled over and over upon itself.

The rumble had clarified into a roar of screaming and crashing as the rapidly approaching behemoth rolled toward them.   They couldn’t outrun it, either on or off their little craft.  Regina pointed to the nearest building.  The brick corners were coined, laid unevenly enough to make a decent ladder.  Thomas understood without a word.  They poled their way across the watery distance, desperation giving them strength and speed.

Regina looked at him as they grabbed the corner of the building.  “You go first,” she shouted over the noise.

Thomas didn’t understand why, but this was no time to stand around arguing etiquette.  He stood up on the raft, found a foothold and handhold, and clambered up the side of the building.  He slowed his ascent to look down at Regina.

Gritting her teeth in determination, she was making slow progress.  Looking up, she caught his eye as he waited, uncertainly, for her.  “Don’t wait for me!  Go!”  He could barely hear her over the roar.

Frustrated and helpless, he climbed up onto the roof, then lay on his stomach so that he could reach back down towards Regina.  She was making better time, but he feared the wall of debris would reach the roof before she would.  He scooted forward, upside down on the pitched roof, caught hold of her wrist, and managed to bodily yank her onto the roof beside him.

“Why did you have me go first?” he demanded angrily.

“No reason we should both die,” she answered.

The words were no sooner out of her mouth then Thomas was absolutely certain they were both going to die.  With a grinding, crunching, screaming moan, the wave hit the building.

 

_____________________________________________________________

a fun plus 119

1d72a-excerpt

Regina pounded the pavement from bank to bank, begging, taking out loans, laying awake night after night trying to figure out how she was going to keep everything afloat. As Tom had said, times were hard, businesses were failing daily.

Regina’s businesses would not have been among the ones in danger – if only Henry had seen fit to give her the benefit of the doubt. But eight years of marriage and one successful business arrangement after another meant less to him than the chemistry of male bonding.

As with every crisis she had faced thus far in her life, Regina gritted her teeth, and looked for the lesson to be learned. This time, she concluded that no one really listens to what you have to say. Telling people not to do something is pointless. They will do what they want. The people you trust most will let you down. Her parents had. Her husband had.

When Lucy returned from the ladies’ cloakroom, Regina excused herself and went in. After she’d deposited her cloak and retrieved her fan, she stared blankly at her reflection in the long mirror.

Her youngest sister Abigail was the cleverest seamstress in the States. Having a good dressmaker was a special sort of secret weapon. The more prosperous she looked, the less anyone would suspect how desperately close to ruin the Waring empire was.

She forced herself to smile and lifted her chin a little. “Attitude is everything, my girl,” she told herself. “Go in like a queen, not a pauper. Men will do favors for queens much more eagerly than they will for beggar girls. Abi can make you look like a queen; your job is to act the part.”