IndieWriterReview’s Celebration for the Return Of The Ascendant and Giveaway by Author Raine Thomas!!


a fun plus 103Good-morning Guys!  Well I am very excited about the celebration for the Return Of The Ascendant by Author Raine Thomas’s which is now available with TWO NEW BONUS CHAPTERS! Woot!! Woot!!

Yes, for the rest of this week we will celebrate!  So today I have an awesome Guest Post from the award winning Author Raine Thomas herself! Yep so check it out below:O)

Bio: Raine Thomas is the award-winning author of bestselling Young Adult and New Adult fiction. Known for character-driven stories that inspire the imagination, Raine recently signed with multiple award-winning producer Chase Chenowith of Back Fence Productions to bring her popular Daughters of Saraqael trilogy to the big screen. She’s a proud indie author who is living the dream. When she isn’t writing or glued to e-mail or social networking sites, Raine can usually be found vacationing with her husband and daughter on one of Florida’s beautiful beaches or crossing the border to visit with her Canadian friends and relatives.

Book Links

Amazon

Barnes and Noble – www.barnesandnoble.com/w/return-of-the-ascendant-raine-thomas/1119125925

iBooks – COMING SOON

Kobo – http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/return-of-the-ascendant

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21411752-return-of-the-ascendant

Social Links:
Twitter (http://twitter/Raine_Thomas)
Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/rainethomas

Goodreads (http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5053436.Raine_Thomas)
Pinterest (http://pinterest.com/raine_thomas/)
Linkedin (http://www.linkedin.com/pub/raine-thomas/53/111/bb3)
Website (http://rainethomas.com)
Blog (http://RaineThomas.com/blog/)

 

**************************************************

a fun plus 101

ROTA GIVEAWAY!!

Please click the link to enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway for some very cool prizes!

Prizes

Signed copy of Return O The Ascendant

$15 Amazon Gift Card

Raine Thomas Swag Pack

a Rafflecopter giveaway

********************************************************

 

Return Of The Ascendant

a fun plus 104

Synopsis: Expecting to enjoy another typical college night at a frat party with friends, Kyra Vaughn’s plans derail when she’s almost killed…twice. Her savior, a tall, sexy stranger who calls himself TaeDane, claims that he’s the personal bodyguard for the Ascendant of Alametria. She’s convinced he’s crazy.

Especially when he insists that she’s the Ascendant.

With dark enemies hunting her down, Kyra has no choice but to trust her supposed bodyguard. Ty vows to help her remember her past and return her safely to Alametria, but someone seems intent on interfering, challenging his abilities at every turn.

As Kyra’s memories emerge, she remembers that Ty is more to her than he’s let on…much more than he’s allowed to be. She’ll also discover that there are many things about her planet and herself that she’d rather forget. In the end, she’ll have to make a choice: cling to the life she knows, or risk it all to become the person she’s destined to be.

 *****************************************************

a fun plus 103

Author Raine Thomas

Guest post 

If you had asked me a year ago which genre I was least likely to ever write, I very well might have said science fiction. While I enjoy Sci-Fi movies like Star Wars and Star Trek, I didn’t grow up reading the books, and being a visual person, I was of the opinion that Sci-Fi themes translated better on the big screen. Besides, I’m a romance writer. What’s romantic about aliens and spaceships?

 

Fast forward to July of last year. The annual UtopYA conference had just wrapped up in Nashville, and the conference’s founder announced the theme (always paranormal based) for 2014’s conference. The theme, she said, is aliens.

 

My initial reaction was something along the lines of, Really?

 

Then, on the drive home with fellow authors Tiffany King, Sarah M. Ross and Carol and Adam Kunz, we came up with an idea to write alien-themed short stories. We’d get a few other authors to participate and we’d put them together in an anthology that would be sold in support of UtopYACon. That anthology, titled Take Me to Your Reader, ultimately changed my writing goals for all of 2014. It also made me fall in love with aliens.

 

It was in the course of writing The Ascendant, my short story for the anthology, that I created the characters KyrVawn and TaeDane. Even though it was “only” a short story, I developed detailed character sketches for them, taking the time to flesh out their home world of Alametria…which isn’t even the setting for the short story.

 

I knew once I went through all of that effort that I wasn’t going to be able to stop writing Kyr and Ty’s story in 8,000 words. Still, the idea of writing Sci-Fi romance novels was something I imagined might get done “one day.” That changed rather quickly when I was approached by bestselling author Kristie Cook about participating in a box set she wanted to do with Lynn Rush, R.K Ryals, and Rachael Wade. The theme of the box set was going to be New Adult paranormal, she said. Did I have any books that fell within that genre?

 

Well, no, I didn’t. But I had the idea for one, and a prequel short story already written. So I set aside my other writing projects and decided to move forward with Return of the Ascendant.

 

Since then, there’s been no looking back. ROTA first published in the Curses, Fates & Soul Mates box set in February, and is now releasing on its own with two new bonus chapters. I plan on having Rout of the Dem-Shyr (Book 2) and Rise of the Faire-Amanti (Book 3) released by the end of 2014. The response from my fans has been enthusiastic and inspiring. They, like me, have fallen in love with the characters and their world.

 

And so here I sit, an author of two published Sci-Fi stories with two more on the way. I suppose this just proves that we should never say never. I hope any readers out there who think they wouldn’t enjoy reading Sci-Fi give Kyr and Ty a chance. Believe me when I say that there IS something romantic about aliens and spaceships, and you’ll find it in The Ascendant Series.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raine Thomas (@Raine_Thomas)
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 12:17:45

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to share how ROTA came about, Michelle!

    Reply

  2. Mary G Loki
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 00:14:51

    Iam an artist, well art student or just doodler…, who is just lacking in inspiration lately. ROTA sounds really interesting, but it was that critic that ur books are inspiring that really caught my attention. I hope to win so I can see for myself if it is inspiring. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,531 other followers

