IndieWritersReview’s Special Guest Post:The Power of Words and The Gift of Writing by Dominique Jordan


Hello Everyone! I am SO excited today to feature a special guest post from Author Dominique Jordan  (One of my awesome Writer buds:O)…whose debut title  The Erlonan Tales: The Destined Child will be published by Silver Tongue Press later this year!

So please check out the awesome post below which depicts an Author’s Journey from Dream to Reality!

Congratulations Dominique on your upcoming release!

a fun plus 103

AUTHOR DOMINIQUE JORDAN

a fun plus 101

Teen Help & Information Site at BellaOnline.com

Guest Post: The Power of Words and The Gift of Writing

Hello,

My name is Dominique L. Jordan. I’m very happy to be the guest blogger for today and to share my love of writing with others who also share this same passion. Ever since I can remember, I’ve had a love for putting words down onto paper, fully experiencing the emotions that could be evoked from reading them. No matter what we may think about words, there’s one thing that we can all agree on…words are powerful! That’s it, plain and simple. Words have the power of life and death — to create and destroy. We’ll never really be able to express how much the power of words means to us. A few kind words can uplift a person in despair and change that person’s entire outlook on life.

We also know, unfortunately, that words have the power to destroy. This can be seen in the form of bullying and other terrible methods of human behavior. However, despite the impact negative words can have, as authors, writers, and creators in general, we have the power to use our words to transform the lives of those around us. As the Editor of the Teen Help and Information site at BellaOnline.com, this is what I do! I write content that encourages, uplifts, and informs teens and their loved ones. But I’ll get to that later. For now, let me tell you a little bit about myself.

I first started writing when I was just seven years-old when my parents gave me a journal as a gift.  I had always loved to read books, so the sight of one that was completely filled with empty pages confused me. I was so perplexed about what to do with this small, empty book in my hands that I didn’t know what to do with it. That’s when they told me that I should just write down everything I saw and everything that happened. So, that’s just what I did. I wrote down everything that happened around me in my neighborhood — kids playing in the street, our neighbor’s dog running and barking after every car that passed by, and even the smell of the freshly cut grass under the marvelous blue sky. Everything around me was a source of inspiration.

But eventually, like most kids who get something new, I eventually lost interest in writing and didn’t really regain that interest until I was 14.

In 2004, at the age of 14, I was in high school and my English class was given an assignment to write a story about a boy who finds a pebble. That evening, as I pondered on what to write about, my mind instantly became flooded with ideas about the boy and the pebble. I began thinking, Could it be a magical pebble? What if someone had lost it and was desperately trying to retrieve it? Maybe it leads to a wondrous underwater metropolis completely unseen by humans? I eventually finished my assignment, going along with the latter idea and turning it in to my teacher the next day. But I couldn’t get the idea of the boy and this unrevealed metropolis out of my head. I then began to scribble ideas about the boy’s background and certain things he liked to do. I would also write about the history of the civilization he would visit. Within a few years, these ideas became several completed manuscripts. I was so proud of myself and I wanted others to share in my joy.

I told my parents what I had done and they were very proud as well (parents are proud of their children whenever they do something out of the ordinary anyways, so there you go!) From that moment on, I tried to get my unpublished manuscript into the hands of a publisher.

I didn’t have any luck until nine years later during my senior year in college. I was at a virtual book release party on Facebook for a friend of mine who also worked with BellaOnline. She was celebrating the release of her novel with a small, independent publisher called Silver Tongue Press. The idea of having a book release party on Facebook was very exciting to me. I met and networked with many people who shared the same interests as me, which included writing and creating interesting characters and situations for people to read. By the end of the party, I was approached by the Co-Founder of STP about writing. That’s when I told her about my books and she was thrilled. She told me to send a query to the Acquisitions Editor and the rest is history! My debut novel The Erlonan Tales: The Destined Child will be published by Silver Tongue Press and released later this year!

I’m so very blessed and grateful to share my love of writing with others. There were times when I thought I would never realize my dreams, but just when you’re about to give up that’s when you’re dreams seem to come true! I’ve been blessed with the tremendous opportunity to share my talents with BellaOnline, a volunteer website that is the second women’s website in the world (behind iVillage, which is owned by NBC). BellaOnline is an online community of people who volunteer their time and talents to provide information that betters the lives of others.

As I said before, the power of words is a great thing. As the Editor of the Teen Help and Information site at BellaOnline.com, I’ve had the great pleasure of meeting so many great people like Michelle Cornwell-Jordan. Michelle has been a fantastic inspiration to me on my journey as a writer. She is a wonderful person and I am proud to call her my friend.

I hope you have enjoyed my post. You can find more information about me and my work below!

Thank you,

Dominique Langston Jordan

 

Information on Dominique Langston Jordan:

 

Email: dmnqjrdn@yahoo.com

Teen Help and Information site at BellaOnline.com: http://teen.bellaonline.com/Site.asp

Google Plus site: https://plus.google.com/109928297456410254473/about

Twitter (@_DomJordan): https://twitter.com/_DomJordan

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dominique.l.jordan.71

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dominiquejordan1

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/21473206-dominique-l-jordan

Silver Tongue Press: http://www.silvertonguepress.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bkwalker
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 19:04:29

    Excellent post. Congratulations on the upcoming release :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,538 other followers

