Welcome Author Terri Giuliano Long and Author Caron Rider(Giveaway!)


Hello:) Fam:)

Reaching again hoping you all will welcome two very special guest to Indiewritersreview! Author Terri Giuliano Long and still with us Author Caron Rider!

NIGHT SCHOOL:VAMPIRE HUNTER PICTURES FOR BK.2 COMING LATER TODAY!

On Tour Now with Orangeberry Book Tours!

Protecting their children comes naturally for Zoe and Will Tyler – until their daughter Leah decides to actively destroy her own future. What happens when love just isn’t enough? Who will pay the consequences of Leah’s vagrant lifestyle? Can this broken family survive the destruction left in Leah’s wake? 

 

Special Guest Post by author Terri Giuliano Long.

What are your best and worst memories from adolescence?

By Will Tyler

Who is Will Tyler? He is Leah’s father in the novel, In Leah’s Wake.
Will Tyler sells projects for North American Construction, the largest commercial contractor on the East Coast. Project oversight requires frequent travel throughout the U.S. He lives in Cortland, Massachusetts, with his wife, Zoe, and their adolescent daughters, Justine and Leah.

When I was twelve, my sister ran away. Celeste was sixteen, the age Leah is now. My sister was the brains in the family, on a full boat at a boarding school on Long Island. We lived outside Philly, so we didn’t see her often. When she came home, there was always a celebration.

The school changed her. She was a quiet kid, studious. I remember watching her at the kitchen table, highlighter in hand, studying, intent. We were different. I was an athlete, so we hung with different crowds. But I respected my sister. She was special and I looked up to her.

At the start of her junior year, she took the train to DC with some friends, for a rally on the National Mall. When she came home for the long weekend in October, I hardly recognized her. She was rail thin, her hair a rat’s nest. She was reading William Burroughs; she wouldn’t stop talking about him. Later, we learned that she’d been dropping acid and cutting her classes.

My parents planned to have a talk with her over the Thanksgiving holidays. I wish I could tell you why they didn’t do it sooner. They were probably afraid of losing her. A few days before Thanksgiving, we got a postcard from San Francisco. She’d hitched a ride with a trucker, was camping in Golden Gate Park. “Leaving later today,” she wrote. “I’m fine. I’ll be in touch.”

She was gone for two months. It nearly destroyed my parents. Back then, nothing was computerized. If somebody decided to fly off the radar, it was almost impossible to find them.

She appeared on our doorstep one day, emaciated and filthy. She never went back to the boarding school. She got her GED and went to Temple. She’s a teacher now, married with kids. We were lucky. I see a lot of Celeste in Leah. I don’t want to see my daughter go down that path.

Two years later, I had the best weekend of my childhood.

My dad managed the janitorial services for City Hall in Philadelphia. Mayor Rizzo gave him tickets to the World Series, Game 6—the Boston Red Sox against the Cincinnati Reds.

Since I’d learned to decipher box scores, I’d been tracking baseball stats, reporting back to my dad. The Sox were my second favorite team, after the Phillies. My father showed me the tickets at dinner. I didn’t sleep a wink that night. The next morning, we got on a train to Boston.

We made it to Fenway in time for batting practice. We bought hotdogs and peanuts and took our seats – six rows behind the dugout.  We could smell the smoke from the players’ cigarettes and hear Yaz, psyching up his teammates. In the eleventh inning, with Griffey on first, Morgan slammed a line drive into deep right. Evans sprinted back, across the warning track— God, what a catch! Amazing! Then Fisk hit that twelfth-inning homer for the win and tied up the Series.

It was the game of a lifetime. I’d always been close to my father. Now he was my hero.I’ve got a lot of good memories from my childhood. I want the same for my kids. I want them to have a good life. I can be hard on them, especially Leah. As I say, we were lucky with Celeste. Things turned out okay. But I know what can happen. I’m not about to take any chances.

About the author – Terri Giuliano Long grew up in the company of stories both of her own making and as written by others. Books offer her a zest for life’s highs and comfort in its lows. She’s all-too-happy to share this love with others as a novelist and as a lecturer at Boston College. Terri loves meeting and connecting with people who share her passions. Visit on

Twitter: www.twitter.com/tglong or

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/tglongwrites

**********************************************************************

 SILVER KNIGHT BY Caron Rider(On Tour April 14th-April 23rd)

GIVEAWAY April 02-April 04 (2 eBooks Available)! For a chance to win a copy of this book:

Sign up by leaving your name and email address in the comment section under Indie Giveaways indie-giveaways

See Excerpt of Silver Knight!Under Indie Giveaways!indie-giveaways

Author Bio:

I began teaching adults to use computer software, hardware, and networking back in the 1990s. After several years, my clients became younger and younger until I found myself tutoring high school dropouts to pass the GED. I found working with at-risk teenagers so rewarding that I changed her undergraduate major to Education.
Upon graduating from the University of South Alabama with a B.S., I began teaching high school history and I continue to teach history classes online. I now live in rural Missouri with my two kids, two dogs, two cats, and father.
I’ve always wanted to encourage students’ creativity, reading and writing skills, so I have put together a collaborative story telling effort at http://telling-tales.wikispaces.com. So come join us!
 
Here are some links:
 
Website: www.caronrider.com
Blog: www.caronrider.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Silver-Series/217988348281222
Twitter Name: Caron_Rider
 
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri Giuliano Long
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 02:45:44

    Thank you so much for hosting me today – I love all the things you have going on on your blog and the fact you manage to feature so many books and posts in a day. You must be such a dedicated blogger!

    Thanks again for taking the time to feature me and In Leah’s Wake!
    Have a great week,
    Terri

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Weekly Round Up: April 7 | The Art & Craft of Writing Creatively

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,544 other followers

