IndieWritersReview Spotlight! Desi Girl Trilogy by Aditi Chopra (Featured Excerpt) Maverick Promotions


a answer

On Tour October 27th-Nov.01st

Author Aditi Chopra

Website

 a fun plus 101

Aditi Chopra was born in India and now lives in Texas with her family. She is passionate about writing and helping others succeed. Aditi writes NRI (Non Resident Indian) fiction and non-fiction books. She has found her creative bone in fiction writing. Her fiction stories are rooted in Indian tradition and yet very modern. You might see a glimpse of Bollywood in her stories and will definitely enjoy the emotional ride.

AUTHOR/SALES LINKS

Author Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Aditi-Chopra/102096966554629
Twitter handle : @atchopra
Book Link: goo.gl/g2A8yS

ABOUT THE BOOK

a fun plus 102

Will Bollywood romance survive the pressures of Silicon Valley culture? Find out in this engaging trilogy.

Ambitious Desi Girl

Mahi is an ordinary looking young professional who works in an I.T. company in San Jose, California. She is pretty much married to her job and cannot see beyond her profession until Raj joins the same company. Raj impresses Mahi with his extremely good looks, intelligence as well as caring nature. Upon getting to know Raj more, Mahi discovers certain emotions that she didn’t know about.

Will Raj distract Mahi from her professional goals? Will Mahi be able to balance her personal as well as professional needs?

Gullible Desi Girl

Mahi and Raj discover their emotions for each other while working in an I.T. Company in San Jose, California. They decide to formalize their relationship and tie the knot. Mahi is determined to climb the success ladder in her organization and her boss aids, trains, and encourages her. However, Mahi’s rising professional dreams threaten her marital bliss.

Will Mahi be able to save her marriage in spite of her tremendous professional drive?

Mystical Desi Girl

Mahi and Raj are two I.T. professionals who find love and commit to stay together for the rest of their lives. However trouble walks in their lives and circumstances threaten their relationship and commitment towards each other.

Will Mahi be able to find peace amongst the chaos? Will she compromise? Will Raj be able to understand what Mahi wants? Will they find happiness with each other again?

 

 

a fun plus 101

BOOK EXCERPT

Excerpt

Raj Shekhar was excited to fly to San Jose, California – his dream place to work. He had packed up a couple of days earlier and was all set for his interview at a software company that he was very interested in. He had done all his research and knew that he would be a good asset for them and it would fit his profile as well.

Raj had never been to California before. After he’d graduated from Purdue University, he got his dream job in Washington State as a software engineer and had spent the last seven years working there. But it was time for a change. At twenty-nine years of age, he felt that he had to get a better handle on his career and his long-term plans.

Raj was a tall guy, about six feet, and always opted for the aisle seat to get enough legroom. He admired the Space Needle from the plane as it took off on Sunday afternoon and spent pretty much the entire flight on his laptop. It was a good use of time to draft all the emails he was not able to get to earlier. He hadn’t told his boss, Mike about his upcoming interview, and wondered how Mike would react if he got the job and were to leave. But Raj didn’t want to spend his time worrying about that yet; he would rather concentrate on the interview first.

Raj glanced out the window as the plane started to descend and he could spot the crisp spring California weather. He could sense the cheer all around him in the plane as well. He yearned for a cigarette and decided to stop by a grocery store on the way to his hotel. He had picked up his smoking habit during his undergraduate college days in India. It was a relaxant, for sure.

As Raj reached the car rental office of the San Jose airport, he noticed a long line in front of him. This was surely a busy airport and especially as it was a Sunday evening. After he rented his car, he looked for the nearest Albertsons in his GPS and drove towards it.

Raj walked into the grocery store and noticed a lot more Indians than he usually ran into in Seattle. San Jose was the place to be for I.T. companies and many Indians had migrated there for work purposes. He looked for his favorite brand and stood in the speed lane to checkout his cigarettes when a voice startled him from behind.

“You know, smoking is not good for your health.”

Raj turned around to see a young wheat-complexioned Indian girl with a loaf of bread in her hand. She was dressed in baggy jeans and a tight gray T-shirt and had a frown on her face.

Raj had never had a stranger give him advice before. He said, “Thanks for the advice, Ms …”

She interrupted. “It’s Mahi.”

“Hey. Ms. Mahi. Thanks for your advice. Just for your information, white bread is not healthy either, you should try wheat bread,” he smirked.

Mahi snapped, “Yes, I know. I am buying it for a friend. I don’t eat white bread.”

Raj smiled. “Of course you don’t.” He was done paying the cashier and was in no mood to get any more lectures on smoking. “Nice meeting you, Mahi.”

Raj walked out of Albertsons and drove to his hotel, which was about five miles down. He couldn’t wait to get there and smoke a cigarette. He wanted to chill out for the rest of the evening and get ready for his important interview tomorrow.

 

 

a fun plus 101

 

Promotion October 27th-Nov. 01st

  1. Oct. 27th- (8pmcst) 30 minute Book Chat w/ Michelle Cornwell-Jordan- IndieReview Behind The Scenes Internet Radio
  2. Oct. 28th-  (Excerpt Feature) at  IndieWritersReview
  3. Oct. 29th- Video trailer Spotlight at IndieReview Behind The Scenes TV
  4. Oct.30th- Spotlight at Maverick Promotions
  5. Oct.31st – (8pmcst) Ten Minute Twitter View chat w/ Host Michelle Cornwell-Jordan Follow Hashtag#MPTour

 

Maverick Promotion “Artists Not Afraid To Think Outside The Box” ©Michelle Cornwell-Jordan
 

IndieWritersReview’s Music Monday Spotlight: Singer-Song Writer Ella Henderson


a fun plus 101Happy Music Monday! Guys I am throwing a spotlight on a performer who is incredibly talented. Ella Henderson who was a Finalist on the ninth season of the X-Factor has a voice in my opinion akin to the sultry tones of Adele! I am now a huge fan! Check out the deets below and the sounds of Ella Henderson!

 

 

a fun plus 102

Website

Taken from Wikipedia

(born 12 January 1996) is a British singer-songwriter. She was a finalist on the ninth seriesof The X Factor in 2012 and finished in sixth place,despite being a strong favorite to win. She was subsequently signed to Syco Music.

Henderson’s debut album Chapter One was released on 13 October 2014 and peaked at number  Her first single, “Ghost“, co-written with Ryan Tedder was released on 8 June 2014 and went straight to number one in the UK, remaining in the Top 5 for eight consecutive weeks. Her second UK single, “Glow“, was released on 5 October 2014 and debuted at number 7.

 

Henderson was born and raised in Tetney, near Grimsby, to parents Sean and Michelle. She has two brothers, Patrick and Fraser and a sister Holly. Henderson developed a keen interest in fashion in her youth, notably vintage fashion, which she retains.

Henderson began singing at the age of three and taught herself to play the piano a few years later. She began to put on shows for her family at Christmas and developed a special bond with her grandfather Bill, who encouraged her to pursue her love of music and songwriting.Her interest developed further at primary school, St Martin’s Preparatory School in Grimsby, and she subsequently decided to audition for a scholarship place at Tring Park School for the Performing Arts in Hertfordshire. Henderson succeeded in gaining a scholarship and boarded at the school from the age of 11 to 16 and attended the school at the same time as Dan Ferrari-Lane of boy band District3, who was on The X Factor with Henderson in 2012.

In early 2012, Henderson made a singing appearance on a celebrity Christmas special of Channel 4‘s Come Dine with Me, where she performed “All I Want for Christmas Is You“. She was a guest of Bianca Gascoigne, who is a family friend and also auditioned for The X Factor in 2012.  The episode was filmed before Henderson’s X Factor appearance.

In 2012, Henderson auditioned for series 9 of The X Factor with the original song called “Missed” which was later included on her debut album. She reached the live shows and was mentored by Tulisa Contostavlos. Henderson and James Arthur were in the bottom two in week 7 and sang for survival, after which the judges were split on who should go. The decision went to “deadlock” and the public votes cast. Arthur got through after gaining 13.7% of the vote to Henderson’s 12.1%. Presenter Dermot O’Leary described Henderson’s exit as “one of the biggest shocks we’ve ever had on the results show.”

During the show and following her exit, a number of celebrities came out in support and praise of Henderson, including Adele, Chloë Grace Moretz, Simon Cowell, Sarah Millican,Stephen Fry, Lily Allen, Nick Grimshaw and Cher. In 2013, on The Xtra Factor, O’Leary named Henderson the most talented performer in his seven years on the show, in his view.

In March 2014, Henderson announced her début album name as Chapter One. The album was written by Henderson, working in collaboration with a number of writers and producers including: Claude Kelly  (former collaborations include Whitney Houston, Britney Spears, Kelly Clarkson, Jessie J, Michael Jackson), Eg White (Adele, Tom Odell, Will Young, Duffy and James Morrison), Salaam Remi (Nas, Amy Winehouse, Fergie, Alicia Keys), Richard “Biff” Stannard, Babyface (Whitney Houston, Madonna, Janet Jackson,Ariana Grande) and TMS (Professor Green and Emeli Sandé, and Little Mix). It has also been reported that Henderson met with Sandé ‘to work on some music together’.

In March 2014, Henderson announced that her debut single would be “Ghost“, co-written with Ryan Tedder. The video for the single was shot in New Orleans and premiered on 23 April 2014. “Ghost” was released on 8 June 2014. Before its release Henderson performed the song on the first semi-final of Britain’s Got Talent on 26 May 2014.Henderson’s second UK single, “Glow” co-written with Camille Purcell, was released on 5 October 2014. Chapter One was released on 13 October 2014.

 

MUSIC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IndieWritersReview Welcomes Karma by Donna Augustine (Bewitching Book Tours!) Review and Excerpt


a fun plus 101

Karma

Karma Series

Book One

Donna Augustine

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Strong Hold Publishing

Date of Publication: July 9, 2014

ISBN: 0692248463

ASIN: B00LMNRWQ4

Number of pages: 344

Word Count: 72,000

Cover Artist: Donna Augustine

Book Description:

People say karma’s a…well, you know. Personally, I don’t think I’m that bad. It’s not like I wanted this job. I wasn’t even in my right mind when I accepted it. 

Now, I’m surrounded by crazy coworkers like Lady Luck, who’s a bit of a tramp, and Murphy’s Law, who’s a bumbling oaf.

But the worst is Fate. He’s got a problem with transfers like myself and I have to see him constantly. It’s unavoidable, since we’re hunting the same man, my murderer.

 

Available at Amazon

Review- A Night Owl Top Pick

 

I was immediately drawn into the story and once I started I couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait for the next book in the series. ~ Review by BookGirl

 

 

Excerpt: 

“No. Just you. Everyone has their own department. You are Karma.” He pointed toward me dramatically, the way someone would try and accent a meaning to a person who didn’t know the language.

“I’m not sure I’m adequately suited for this position. Even for a month. I’m more of a “bygones be bygones” kind of person. Don’t you need someone a bit more vengeful?”

He looked down at the file spread on his desk. “I would disagree. Your file said you would be an excellent candidate.”

“May I see that?” I asked, eying up said file on his desk. How much did Harold know about me? Everything? That was an uneasy feeling. Even the best of us had our secrets and even though I considered myself a decent human being, I didn’t think I fell into the saintly category.

The file didn’t look big enough for my entire life to be in it. It didn’t even look thick enough for a short story. Maybe just a highly edited Wiki version?

“No, absolutely not.” He shut the Manila folder quickly, as if I were going to jump up and try to peek. The guy took neurotic to a whole other level.

Okay, the file wasn’t that important. I needed to keep the peace and simply explain in better detail how I’d made an error in judgment. Be nice. My southern mother had always said you caught more bees with honey than vinegar. She had tried to drill it into my head since I was a small child. It wasn’t something I’d come naturally to, that was for sure, but it was a valid tactic, even if that wasn’t the lesson my mother had meant to instill.

“Harold, when I agreed to work for you, I was under the duress of seeing my dead body. You can understand how jarring that can be, right? I wasn’t thinking clearly at all.” It sounded logical enough to me, but I wasn’t sure if he’d ever had the pleasure of dying and his manner didn’t scream naturally empathetic.

He cleared his throat and I could tell by the set of his mouth that I wouldn’t like the next words. “I’m sorry, but that’s not how things work here. Like I told you, there’s a mandatory one-month trial period. An active one-month.”

He leaned back in his chair and pushed his glasses up closer to his face. His almost black eyes, artificially enlarged from the lens, stared at me in a bit of an awkward way. I wasn’t sure if there was a bite to follow up his bark but his magnified beady gaze sure made the situation less than desirable.

Still, beady gaze and all, I had to try one last time. Perhaps a different angle. Regardless of my record, he clearly thought I was an idiot; maybe that was the way to go. I had no problem playing a stooge if it got me out of here quickly.

“As you stated, I’m a transfer. You really don’t want me. I’m a horribly slow learner. The mistakes I’ve made in my life, geesh, you’d squirm if you knew.” I twirled a finger in my hair for effect and wished I had some chewing gum to smack.

“Yes, I’m well aware.”

He was? Hey, wait a minute; I didn’t think I’d done too badly for myself. What were these jerks writing about me in that file?

“Fate will help you with that.”

And just like that, I had bigger problems. I wasn’t just stuck here; I was stuck with him. “The guy who helped me so far?”

“Yes.”

“No.”

“It has to be him.” Harold threw his hands in the air, as if why am I bothering him? Not his orders.

“Then I’ll work alone.”

I’d be clueless but peaceful. There was something wrong about that guy. There was something too bossy or too intense. I couldn’t even describe exactly what it was about him that was too much, but it was.

Even the brief moment I’d actually been in my right mind around him, it was as if his presence exerted some sort of gravitational pull, stronger than a normal person’s. As if his intensity could throw me out of orbit. And I didn’t want to go out of orbit. I had enough things to handle besides ping ponging around.

“Non-negotiable. I’ve got orders.” Harold folded his hands and rested them atop his desk, littered with paper.

“From who exactly?”

“The universe.” His chin notched up a hair.

“Would it be possible to speak to this universe person? I’m sure they’ll understand that there is a personality conflict.” It was time to bump my complaint to upper management.

“No one speaks to the universe.”

“Then how do you know what to do?” I leaned in a little.

“Simple. Through my orders.” His eyes started to twitch.

“Which you get how?”

“My memos.”

“Then you can send a memo to the universe. I won’t work with him.”

“I’ll file your complaint but it won’t matter. And don’t forget, as I’ve already explained, it has to be an active month.”

Twenty-five days. I’ve dealt with worse for longer. One case in particular came to mind. The guy actually tried to bite me when we lost. Harold didn’t seem inclined to bite and he didn’t get into my personal space. I could deal with him.

On the other hand, Fate looked like he might be the biting sort.

“Do the last five days count toward the thirty? Time served and all?”

“Yes.”

“These first days were highly unpleasant. Do you think I could get extra credit for those? Maybe, I don’t know, you could knock off a day or two? Like they do in jail for good behavior?”He squinted his eyes and tilted his head. I was going to take that for a no.

 

 

About the Author:

a fun plus 101

Donna Augustine’s lifelong ambition was to become the crazy cat lady. Unfortunately, when family allergies cut short her dream of living in a house full of furries, she turned her ambitions toward writing. Combining her love of fantasy, scifi, horror and romance, she tries to string together interesting twists on urban fantasy.

 

A native of New Jersey, when she isn’t writing, or overdosing on caffeine, she can occasionally be spotted in disguise at the local dog park.

 

www.donnaaugustine.com

https://www.facebook.com/Donnaaugustinebooks

https://twitter.com/DonnAugustine

 

 book review

MY REVIEW

(Maybe a little Spoilers Here)

Karma was a fun read! I enjoyed seeing the AfterLife set up in its various departments as a well running machine. Our heroine Camilla/Karma as a newly ‘Dearly Departed’ and brought back as the embodiment of Karma was ingenious. I loved the interplay between the characters and Karma. Also love the simmering tension with Karma and Fate! (Yep, he’s the brooding guy that’s pulling Karma strings:O).

But the story is new and fresh, while Karma tries to transition from her old life as Lawyer, to her new gig, she has other players (not the good type) vying for her attention as well! So all of this in the mix causes problems for our girl:)

The story is a well written, fast paced read! I have to say again I enjoyed the fresh outlook on the Paranormal and I would highly recommend this to those who like Paranormal, Romance and Mystery….it has a very mysterious feel to it:)

 

Bewitching book tours

IndieWritersReview Welcomes (Brand-New Episode)The Writer’s Life: Gettin’ Ready


Brand-New Episode: Michelle enjoys the little things as she prepares for the BIG day!

a fun plus 101

IndieWritersReview Welcomes Fall for New Reads Giveaway!!


 

Ten New Adult and Young Adult authors team together to bring readers some hot new reads this fall season. So while the weather’s cooling down, your e-reader is just warming up! Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to WIN a $10.00 Amazon gift card and an eBook prize pack from one of the featured authors. The eBook prize packs are showcased next to each author’s bio. Enjoy, and good luck!  

Featured authors:
International Bestselling Author Mary Ting/M. Clarke resides in Southern California with her husband and two children. She enjoys oil painting and making jewelry. Writing her first novel, Crossroads Saga, happened by chance. It was a way to grieve the death of her beloved grandmother, and inspired by a dream she once had as a young girl. When she started reading new adult novels, she fell in love with the genre. It was the reason she had to write one-Something Great. Get updates from Mary Ting by signing up for her newsletter here. GIVEAWAY eBooks: FROM GODS, CROSSROADS, SOMETHING GREAT & MY CLARITY.
Bella’s motto has always been that you can choose to watch life pass you by or your can be the one spinning the world. You have to get out and live, life won’t come to you! Bella has always seen things in the world with a different view and has been an avid story-teller. She is enjoying putting her crazy musings into print for others to enjoy. To her, one of the most exciting parts of writing is getting a chance to interact with readers. To stay current on new releases please consider joining Bella’s mailing list here. GIVEAWAY eBooks: The INK Series.

 

 Amelie Howard grew up on a small Caribbean island where she spent most of her childhood with her nose buried in a book or being a tomboy running around barefoot, shimmying up mango trees and dreaming of adventure. 22 countries, surfing with sharks and several tattoos later, she has traded in bungee jumping in China for writing the adventures she imagines instead. She isn’t entirely convinced which takes more guts. Stay connected to Amalie and receive current updates by “liking” Amalie’s Facebook page here. GIVEAWAY eBooks: SEA MONSTER & THE ALMOST GIRL.
Kristie Cook is a lifelong, award-winning writer in various genres, from marketing communications to fantasy fiction. She continues to write the Soul Savers Series, a New Adult paranormal romance/contemporary fantasy, with the first five books, Promise, Purpose, Devotion, Power and Wrath available now. Besides writing, Kristie enjoys reading, cooking, traveling and riding on the back of a motorcycle. Keep uptodate on Kristie’s books and news by “liking” her Facebook page here. GIVEAWAY eBooks: The Book of Phoenix Series.
Raine Thomas is the award-winning author of bestselling Young Adult and New Adult fiction. Known for character-driven stories that inspire the imagination, Raine recently signed with multiple award-winning producer Chase Chenowith of Back Fence Productions to bring her popular Daughters of Saraqael trilogy to the big screen. She’s a proud indie author who is living the dream. For more updates on Raine and her books, sign up for her newsletter here. GIVEAWAY eBooks: The Ascendant Series: books 1 & 2.

From an early age, Trisha Wolfe dreamed up fantasy worlds and characters and was accused of talking to herself. Today, she lives in South Carolina with her family and writes full time, using her fantasy worlds as an excuse to continue talking to herself. To keep in touch and receive updates on sales and new books, sign up for Trisha’s newsletter here.

GIVEAWAY eBooks: THE DARKEST PART & LOSING TRACK: first & second novels in the Living Heartwood NA Contemp series.
Allie Juliette Mousseau writes sexy, emotionally-charged New Adult and Adult Romance in a variety of genres and temperatures. Allie Juliette also creates captivating YA worlds through the magic of ink. She can always be found writing, playing in puddles with her children, hiking with her husband, or adventuring somewhere in the world. Stay up to date on Allie’s new releases by signing up for her newsletter here.
GIVEAWAY eBooks: TRUE NORTH & HUNTED.
I write fiction for teens and adults and teach writing and literature at a university in San Antonio, where I live with my husband, three kids, and two dogs. I’m also an avid reader. I’ve always said I never want to give up reading for writing or vice versa. I want to do both. Keep in touch with Eva Pohler and receive updates on new releases by signing up for current updates here.
GIVEAWAY eBooks:  The Gatekeeper’s Saga & The Purgatorium Series Book 1 & 2.
Cambria Hebert is a bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. She currently resides in North Carolina with her children (human and furry) and her husband, who is a United States Marine. Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. Get updates of Cambria’s sales and new release by signing up for her updates here. GIVEAWAY eBooks: Take it Off Series.
Alexandrea Weis is an advanced practice registered nurse who was born and raised in New Orleans. Having been brought up in the motion picture industry, she learned to tell stories from a different perspective and began writing at the age of eight. Infusing the rich tapestry of her hometown into her award-winning novels, she believes that creating vivid characters makes a story memorable. A permitted/certified wildlife rehabber with the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries, Weis rescues orphaned and injured wildlife. She lives with her husband and pets in New Orleans. Stay connected to Alexandrea and get current updates on her books by “liking’ her Facebook page here. GIVEAWAY eBooks: THE BONDAGE CLUB & COVER TO COVERS.
                                         
*****************************************************************************
a fun plus 101
 RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY LINK
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

IndieWritersReview Welcomes Dark Genesis The Darkling Trilogy Book 1 D. Koboah! (Bewitching Book Tours!) Excerpt Feature


 

      REVIEW TO COME SOON!

 

a fun plus 101

Dark Genesis

The Darkling Trilogy                                                                                         

Book 1

  1. D. Koboah

Genre: Historical Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Twenty Four Publishing

ISBN: 978-0957300309

ASIN: B007NI8GUS

Number of pages: 278

Word Count: 90,414

Cover Artist: www.idobookcovers.com

Book Description:

Life for a female slave is one of hardship and unspeakable sorrow, something Luna knows only too well. But not even she could have foreseen the terror that would befall her one sultry Mississippi evening in the summer of 1807.

On her way back from a visit to see the African woman, a witch who has the herbs Luna needs to rid her of her abusive master’s child, she attracts the attention of a deadly being that lusts for blood. Forcibly removed from everything she knows by this tormented otherworldly creature, she is sure she will be dead by sunrise.

Dark Genesis is a love story set against the savage world of slavery in which a young woman who has been dehumanized by its horrors finds the courage to love, and in doing so, reclaims her humanity.

Amazon       Smashwords        Kobo        Itunes

 

 

Excerpt:

 

There were rare moments when the full horror of a female slave’s life fell on me and I felt that now when I glanced up at the woods and the path I would take back to the house. An all-encompassing despair rocked me from head to toe. I didn’t want to go back to a life of bondage. I didn’t want to go back to my quarters and drink the evil concoction which would hunt down and kill the innocent in my womb. I didn’t want to go back to a life where I saw evil practiced with ease and nonchalance, a life in which evens my body was not mine to own.

Master John had been away for the past week but when I got back to my cabin tonight and fell asleep, would I find myself jolted awake by him, his form looming over me in the pale light of the moon streaming through the open window, his male tool already awake and straining against the cotton of his trousers?

The mere thought caused me to double over with my arms wrapped around my waist, my face close to the water and the rocks beneath its surface.

The cause of most of my problems lay in the face that was almost lost in the watery surface now that the light was gone. I reached my hand into the stream and pulled out a large black rock. It looked as if it had split in two and the split end was as sharp as the blade of a knife. I held that rock up above my face and thought about Mama Akosua being brought to a strange land against her will at the age of fifteen. I thought about how lost and frightened she must have felt being so far from everything she knew and loved, and the strength and fearlessness she displayed when she took a blade to her own face and cut those marks into her skin. In doing so, she had honored and held onto the customs of her people, people she would never see again. Those scars that I had previously been repulsed by and seen as part of the savage ways of her past, had given her strength. They had been a way to take ownership of at least one part of her body and keep it forever hers.

I would do the same thing. I would take control of at least one aspect of my life and destroy the face that drew men like Master John to me like predators to the scent of fresh blood. I would use this rock to take away the pleasure he found in looking at this face and keep him out of my bed forever.

I brought the sharpest point of the rock down to rest in the middle of my forehead and closed my eyes. I began to apply pressure until I felt it break the skin, a point no bigger than the tip of my fingernail, and felt a warm release of blood. Strangely, I felt no pain, only exhilaration that I could finally do something to stop the terror inflicted on me by my Master.

I was about to bring the rock down my forehead, across my nose and down my cheek, when something, some force, stayed my hand. All at once I grew cold and it felt as if the air around my wrist was alive and humming softly in tune to some sinister beat, making goose bumps spring up along my forearm.

I pushed down with all my might but miraculously this force increased and when I felt my hand begin to move away from my face, I opened my eyes.

I was still facing the woods and for a moment I thought I saw something amongst the trees, a sliver of something that was an almost translucent white. At the same moment I experienced a wave of dizziness that made me feel as if my mind and body had turned to water. I quickly shut my eyes but the dizziness increased and I felt myself swaying, my thoughts and emotions a confusing melee, and I heard a voice in my head. Or was it my own voice?

That will not stop him, it said.

My eyes snapped open when I heard a sharp crack to my right. I whirled around to trace the sound, a sharp streak of fear leaping and twisting within me. It was only when I noticed that my hand was now empty and clenched into a fist that I realized that what I had heard was the sound of the rock I had just been holding hitting one of the trees on my right. The distance to that tree was a good seven or eight meters away. Had I really thrown it that far?

I got to my feet uneasily, knowing that I needed to get away from the chapel immediately. Something was very wrong here. The light was nearly gone now and there was something here with me. I could feel it now, an immense power unfolding and drawing strength as the last of the light seeped out of the sky.

Terror beat furiously within me, radiating to my very core. Mama Akosua had been right. I shouldn’t have come here. I was in danger, I…

Intoxicating dizziness washed over me again and although I tried to fight against its pull it drew me in, causing me to close my eyes and sway in time to its suffocating rhythm…

And then I was standing at the kitchen door of the main house, having walked through the woods from the chapel and back to the house with no memory of the journey.

 

 

About the Author:

a fun plus 102

I am the author of The Darkling Trilogy, an unconventional and epic love story between a vampire and a slave girl. The trilogy was inspired by my thoughts on dehumanization.

I was fascinated by the ways in which people are able to dehumanize others, the impact it has on the psyche and whether it is possible for people to find their way back from being dehumanized.

This led me to a slave called Luna and the ruins of a haunted chapel deep in the heart of Mississippi.

Website: www.adkoboah.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/AD-Koboah/172747466249709

Twitter: https://twitter.com/adkoboah

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5807160.A_D_Koboah

 

 

Bewitching book tours

 

 

 

IndieWritersReview Welcomes The Noru (Book1: Blue Rose) By Lola StVil (Bewitching Books Virtual Tour)


a fun plus 101

The Noru: Blue Rose

Book One

Lola StVil

Genre: YA Fantasy

ASIN:  B00LKSYV9C

Number of pages: 397

Word Count:  73,062

Cover Artist: Renu

Book Description: 

“After speaking to the other angels on the team, I hang up my cell and sigh. No one’s heard from Aaden in months. This bothers me not only as the leader but as his girl–well if I was his girl–which I’m not. 
Great. Now on top of being grounded, I’m sitting here acting girly and needy. Argh!!!

Screw this! I start to head downstairs to plead my case to my parents again, when something out the window catches my eye. I lean in closer to get a good look. What I see astounds me: soundlessly and without hesitation, the humans line up and jump off the roof one at a time…”

PLEASE NOTE: This book contains a scene in chapter 12 that is for mature audiences only. Readers can skip this chapter without missing any info vital to the plot. 

Available Free at Amazon   

Also Available at iTunes   Nook   Kobo

 

 

Excerpt:

“That didn’t look like nothing, Pryor. He’s terrified. You were Binding him,” my dad accuses.

“A little,” I admit, avoiding eye contact.

“You could have killed him,” she says.

“I wasn’t going to hurt Principal Walsh. I just wanted him to shut up. He was going on about conforming to the status quo, and frankly that’s unacceptable behavior for an educator. I was doing humanity a favor by rendering him silent.”

 

 

About the Author:

a fun plus 102

Lola was seven when she first came to this country from Port-au-Prince, Haiti. She attended Columbia College in Chicago, where her main focus was creative writing. In addition to plays, she also writes screenplays and short stories.

She has been commissioned to write for ABC, CBS and Princeton University. She won the NAACP award for her play “The Bones of Lesser Men”. In addition to being nominated for LA Weekly awards. Her work has also received positive reviews from The LA Times, Variety and LA Weekly.

http://www.lolastvil.com/

https://www.facebook.com/guardiansgirl

Twitter @guardiansgirl

Instagram @authorlolastvil

Newsletter http://eepurl.com/W-scP 

 

a fun plus 101

 

Tour giveaway 

5 WINNERS will get a free copy of THE NORU: BOOK 2: THE LAST AKON  Click To Enter

 

 

Bewitching book tours

Previous Older Entries

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,529 other followers

%d bloggers like this: